Hispanic Heritage Celebration

Hispanic Heritage Month, whose grassroots dating back to 1968, begins each year on September 15, the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. During National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15) BEOC will recognize the contributions made and the important presence of Hispanic and Latino Americans to the United States and celebrate their heritage and culture.