Our Team

The University at Buffalo Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI) includes representatives of all the Buffalo Translational Consortium (BTC) partners.

The BTC, formed in 2009, brings together the premier educational, research and clinical institutions, with influential community-based organizations, into a partnership with a vision of improving the health of our region. The BTC engages key stakeholders, including patients, clinicians and health care delivery systems, in all phases of clinical and translational research.

The CTSI acts as the coordinating hub of that alliance. The shared environment created through the BTC, the investments in social capital, technology and expertise, and a will to cooperate, combine to create a strong foundation for the CTSI to transform translational research in the Buffalo Niagara region. 


Director, CTSI

Timothy Murphy, MD, SUNY Distinguished Professor, is senior associate dean for clinical and translational research, responsible for overseeing strategies that aim to transform the school’s research programs into new or improved treatments for patients.

sanjay sethi.

Associate Director, CTSI

Sanjay Sethi, MD, is director of UB’s Clinical Research Office; chief of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine; and Assistant Vice President for Health Sciences in the Department of Medicine at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

  • CTSI Board
    The CTSI Board is the principal oversight body of the University at Buffalo CTSI and is comprised of leaders of each Buffalo Translational Consortium (BTC) partner institution.  The Board provides broad oversight of CTSI initiatives and advice on strategy and priorities.
  • CTSI Steering Committee
    The Steering Committee’s responsibilities include reviewing progress of cores towards short-term and long-term goals, improving collaboration among cores, reviewing and responding to Evaluation Team reports and advising CTSI leadership regarding the needs of BTC investigators.