Faculty Senate General Meeting February 21, 2017

1. Minutes from 11/15/17 & special meeting minutes from 11/15/17 both accepted

2. Chairs Report

- a. Moment of silence for Dr. Peter Nickerson (Biology), past chair of the Faculty Senate
- b. Updated on the following:
 - i. UB Tobacco Free Campus initiative progressing
 - ii. SUNY Plenary update
 - 1. Sanctuary SUNY
 - 2. Transgender healthcare
 - 3. DACA
 - 4. Pomona Statement https://www.pomona.edu/news/2016/11/21-college-university-presidents-call-us-uphold-and-continue-daca
 - iii. Gender equity salary survey moving along
 - iv. Scott Weber will be coming FS to discuss his new role and plans
 - v. Thanks to Steve Dunnett for all the work he has done for our international faculty and students
 - vi. March 30th the Libraries will be hosting an Academic Publishing workshop for faculty, the event is free and all are encouraged to attend. See registration http://library.buffalo.edu/academic-publishing/
 - vii. Spectrum editorial on February 20th page 3 asked the faculty what they are passionate about, what would they stand for?

3. President's Report

- a. Canadian universities are seeing an increase in U.S. and International student applications.
- b. SUNY has a flat budget this year
- c. The Tuition Free SUNY initiative from the Governor would allow families making less than \$100,000 to send their children to a SUNY college or university for free.

4. Provost's Report

- a. Carrying out a strategic plan that will solicit feedback from campus stakeholders. The specific committees will be discussed at the next FSEC meeting on 2/22/17
- b. The semester is going very well considering the travel restrictions that our international faculty and students faced. Thanked Drs. Dunnett and Woods for their diligence in assuring all of our international faculty and students returned safely back to UB.
- 5. Motion to postpone "Freedom of Expression Statement for the University at Buffalo, SUNY" resolution until 4/18/17 approved unanimously.
- 6. 1st reading of the "UB Faculty Senate Resolution to Protect Non-Citizen Members of the UB Community" by Dr. Lenker
 - a. Motion to scratch "especially those who are...enforcement action" approved
 - b. Motion to scratch in bullet number 3 "faculty and staff" failed
 - c. Motion to strike "patrol" throughout and replace with "protection" approved

- d. Motion to strike "respect the right of campus religious organizations..." failed
 e. Motion to add acronym "DACA" to 1st page, paragraph 4 approved
- 7. Meeting adjourned at 4:15pm

Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, February 21st, 2017 3:00-4:00pm Center for Tomorrow

	<u> </u>
	FACULTY SENATE OFFICERS
	Philip Glick V
	Cynthia Tysick
	James Hassett MI
	SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE AND PLANNING 3/3
×	Sean Burkholder
	JiYoung Park
	Beth Tauke
	COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES 17/31
	Ana Mariella Bacigalupo X LL Rocal Co calco
	Sampson Blair
	Michael Cowen Mye
	Colleen Cullerton
	James Currie
×	Vesna Danilovic Hone Veulone
	Kenneth Dauber L. D. L.
	Sergey Dolgopolski
	Stephen Dyson EXCUSED
	David Johnson
	Nicholas Lustig
	Andrea Markelz
	Sara Metcalf Jane Motions
	David Schmid
	Jean-Jacques Thomas EXCUSED
	Paul Zarembka
[Ewa Ziarek & The Common

+President Tripathi +Provost Zakowski

SCHOOL OF DENTAL MEDICINE 4/4
Ilaf Almawaldi -> Anne Mayer
Michael Hatton MN Haffer
Raymond Miller Z - M
Benita Sobieraj
7
EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER 1/1
Nancy Lane MM Yane
SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCES 11/11
Paschalis Alexandridis
Carl Alphonce
Deborah Chung Deborah Chun
Paul DesJardin
Bharat Jayaraman
Steven Ko
Satish Mohan
Dimitris Pados
Abani Patra
Mark Swihart
Marina Tsianou
GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION 5/5
Fenice Boyd
Kayte Conroy Kayte Conros
Lilliam Malave-Lopez
Sarah Robert Od C
Margaret Sallee M Meagn Holland
0
SCHOOL OF LAW 3/3
James Milles
Matt Steilen Matt Stolcy
Rick Su

SCHOOL OF MAN	AGEMENT 4/5
Jurriaan de Jong 🕽	ζ
KiYoung Lee	Bu
Elizabeth Mohr	
Sudhit Suchak	,
SCHOOL OF MED	ICINE AND BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES 24/25
Omar Al-Ibrahim	1
Jessy Alexander	1-11-
Nikolaos Almyrou	dis Museum
Daniel Antonius	
Peter Bradford	
Clarice Cooper	
Peter Elkin	
Julia Faller	
Edward Fine	
Aijaz Gundroo 🔄	CUSED
Mark Hicar	2772
Vijay Iyer	
Gareth Lema	
Supriya Mahajan	donly
Peter Martin	
Sangita Patel	A CHI
Gabriela Popescu	GKR
Timothy Quinn	Re
Melissa Rayhill	punn h
Satpal Singh	
Heather Territo	march -
John Tomaszewsł	i - Rolet Hard
Susan Udin	1. Win
Charles Wiles	
SCHOOL OF NUR	
Laura Anderson	
Donna Fabry 🕬	WSED

	<u>PL OF PHARMACY</u> 3/3
Kathy B	Boje Katle 4 K BS
Fred Do	ploresco
Jun Qu	
SCHOO	L OF PUBLIC HEALTH & HEALTH PROFESSIONS 4/4
Matt Bo	onner Waller
Gaspar	Farkas Farkas
Jim Len	ker — ws Asuv
John Wi	ilson
SCHOO	L OF SOCIAL WORK 2/2
Gretche	en Ely Isla Royala
Charles	Syms Syms
	8
	RSITY LIBRARIES 3/3
	ra Johnson-Cooper Excused
	oremski Wills Post
Elizabet	th Stellrecht H
	0
	ENATOR 4/4
Cemal B	
Philip G	
	r Montague
Ezra Zu	brow

86 Senators +3 SUNY Senators + 2 Officers = 91 members

108 seats in the Faculty Senate

47 needed for quorum