

# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes December 15, 2022 Center for Tomorrow

Attendance: see Appendix 1

#### Call to Order

The chair, Fred Stoss, called the meeting to order at 3:05 pm and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Agenda: The agenda for the day was approved unanimously.

- 1. Minutes from November 2022 / Cynthia Tysick
- 2. Resolution to Amend the Academic Calendar/Joanne McLaughlin

#### **Action Items**

- Approved 11/15/22 minutes
- Second reading of the Resolution to Amend the Academic Calendar
  - o Proposed amendments to resolution
    - Amendment 1: Add a Fall break the Friday before Indigenous People's Day. Begin classes on the Friday before our current start date. No other changes to the Calendar.
      - 13 Yes
      - 30 No
      - 7 Abstain
    - Amendment 2: Establish Fall break Monday and Tuesday of Thanksgiving week
      - 11 Yes
      - 37 No
      - 7 Abstain
    - Amendment 3: Establish the proposed Monday-Tuesday Fall Break, but without the one-week early start date. Latest last day of finals is Dec 23. (Alternatively, consider starting a week earlier only one or two out of seven calendars)
      - 6 Yes
      - 45 No
      - 5 Abstain
  - Resolution approved
    - 40 Yes
    - 8 No
    - 2 Abstain

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 4:20pm



## Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday December 15, 2022 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

CHAIR:	
Fred Stoss – ✓	

## SECRETARY:

Cindi Tysick – ✓

## **PARLIAMENTARIAN:**

**VACANT SEAT** 

#### **ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING:**

Dean: Robert Shibley -

\*Kerry Traynor: Alt Kelly Gregg - ✓

Georg Rafailidis - ✓

## **COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES:**

Dean: Robin Schulze - ✓

- \*Barbara Prinari ✓
- \*Kenneth Dauber -
- \*Sampson Lee Blair -
- \*Liana Vardi –

Wei Sun –

Jason Benedict – ✓

Chad Lavin – ✓

Sara Metcalf –✓

Kristin Stapleton – ✓

Michael Cowen -

Grady Gambrel – ✓

Harvey Palmer – ✓

Julie Bowker – ✓

Justin Read -

Christopher Dennison –

Eero Laine -

David Johnson –
Cari Casteel –
Victoria Wolcott – ✓
Lara Hutson – ✓
Nicholas Difrancesco - ✓
DENTAL MEDICINE:
Interim Dean: Stefan Ruhl -
*Michelle Visser Kay – ✓
Benita Sobieraj – ✓
EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER:
*Marsha Christiano – ✓
ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:
ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:  Dean: Kemper Lewis -
Dean: Kemper Lewis -
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis -  *Marina Tsianou -
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓  Cecilia Hilde Martinez-Leon — ✓
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓  Cecilia Hilde Martinez-Leon — ✓  Kallol Sett — ✓
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓  Cecilia Hilde Martinez-Leon — ✓  Kallol Sett — ✓  Farah Percy Vandrevala — ✓
Dean: Kemper Lewis -  *Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓  Cecilia Hilde Martinez-Leon — ✓  Kallol Sett — ✓  Farah Percy Vandrevala — ✓  Jose Walteros — ✓
Paschalis Alexandridis —  *Marina Tsianou —  Julia Latorre — ✓  Cecilia Hilde Martinez-Leon — ✓  Kallol Sett — ✓  Farah Percy Vandrevala — ✓  Jose Walteros — ✓  Junsong Yuan —

# GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:

Sabanayagam Thevanayagam – ✓

Dean: Suzanne Rosenblith -

\*Lilliam Malave Lopez – ✓

Blythe Anderson – ✓

Debanjan Sarkar –

Wenyao Xu –

Stephanie Fredrick – ✓

Janina Brutt-Griffler –

#### LAW:

Dean: Aviva Abramovsky – ✓

\*Mekonnen Ayano – ✓

Stephen Paskey -

Kim Diana Connolly – ✓

#### **MANAGEMENT:**

Dean: Ananth V. Iyer -

\*Laura Amo – Excused

Winston Lin − ✓

Weihong Xu – ✓

#### **MEDICINE & BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES:**

Dean: Allison Brashear -

\*Thomas Melendy: Alt. David Shubers - ✓

\*David Shucard - ✓

Yongho Bae – ✓

Marilou Ching –

Michael Duffey -

Michael Farkas – ✓

Seth Glassman -

Michael Guppenberger - ✓

Liise Kayler –

Yaron Perry –

Spyridon Stavrou –

Supriya Mahajan –

Elizabeth Wohlfert -

Stephanie Anzman-Frasca –

Praveen Chandrasekharan –

Richard Chou – ✓

D. Fernando Estrada —

Michael Ferrick — ✓

Stuart Inglis — ✓

Vijay Iyer —

Yungki Park — ✓

Vaqar Shah — ✓

Sandra Sieminski —

Pooja Sofat — ✓

## **NURSING:**

Dean: Annette Wysocki -

\*Jennifer Livingston – ✓

Darryl Somayaji – ✓

#### PHARMACY:

Dean: Gary Pollack – ✓

\*Erin Slazak - ✓

Raymond Cha -

Donald Mager – ✓

#### PUBLIC HEALTH AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS:

Dean: Jean Wactawski-Wende -

\*Albert Vexler - ✓

Vijaya Prakash K. Muthaiah –

Ekaterina Noyes: Alt. Rebecca Kranz – ✓

Deanna Hostler – ✓

Christopher Stavisky – ✓

## **SOCIAL WORK:**

Dean: Keith Alford -

\*Peter Sobota - ✓

Annahita Ball –

## **UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES:**



\*John Beatty - ✓

Eileen Sherman –

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:
Will Eaton
Dorothy Lin
lan Roma
Grant Ashley