J. Warren Perry Lecture Fund

The School of Public Health and Health Professions hosts the annual J. Warren Perry Lecture.

An annual lecture brings nationally recognized experts in health professions to UB through the support of this fund.

A prolific and accomplished scholar, administrator, author and lecturer, J. Warren Perry was founding dean of the University at Buffalo School of Health Related Professions (now the School of Public Health and Health Professions). He established this fund, along with his brother Dr. Charles D. Perry, to support an annual lecture at the school. The presenter of the lecture is typically someone of national stature and/or distinction in at least one significant area of interest to the allied health professions.

Perry came to UB in 1966 to found the School of Health Related Professions, a model for similar schools throughout the SUNY system, and was the first allied health professional ever elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. He died in 2010.

Past Perry lecturers include Kathryn H. Schmitz, PhD, MPH, FACSM; Geoffrey T. Fong, PhD, FRSC, FCAHS; Russell R. Pate, PhD; and Sandro Galea, MD, MPH, DrPH.

Other Public Health Funds

News from the School of Public Health and Health Professions

  • Two SPHHP Undergrads Selected for SUNY Leadership Academy

    Two SPHHP undergraduates are the only UB students selected to take part this year in the 2020 SUNY SAIL Student Leadership Academy.

  • SPHHP 2022 Student Awards Honor Accomplished Scholars

    The School of Public Health and Health Professions recently announced its Annual Student Awards program. The awards celebrate and recognize the admirable accomplishments of hardworking students across all five departments.

  • Doctoral Students' Research Published
    Several doctoral students in SPHHP’s Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health have had work accepted and published recently.
  • New Honors for SPHHP Faculty

    Faculty in athletic training, rehabilitation science, and epidemiology and environmental health fields recognized with awards and council appointments.

  • New vision for UB RENEW Institute

    The institute has designated four new focus areas, with proposal support, shared instrumentation and other resources available to UB researchers.

  • UB faculty named SUNY Distinguished Professors

    R. Lorraine Collins, Luis Colón, Steven Schwaitzberg and Gil Wolfe have been promoted to the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.

  • SPHHP Faculty Gain Honors and Appointments

    The expertise and work of several faculty in the School of Public Health and Health Professions have recently garnered recognition in their fields.