This article is from the archives of the UB Reporter.
Our Colleagues


Published: June 21, 2012

Anne B. Curtis, Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and chair of the Department of Medicine, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has received the 2012 Distinguished Service Award from the Heart Rhythm Society.

The award recognizes Curtis’ outstanding contributions to the Heart Rhythm Society, which she has served in a number of capacities, including as president in 2006. More recently, she served as chair of the society’s governance committee. She currently chairs its ethics committee.

Curtis is one of the world’s leading clinical cardiac electrophysiologists and an expert in cardiac arrhythmias. Her clinical research has significantly advanced knowledge of human cardiac electrophysiology and heart-rhythm abnormalities.

Joseph L. Izzo Jr., professor in the departments of Medicine and Pharmacology and Toxicology, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has been awarded the American Society of Hypertension’s Marvin Moser Clinical Hypertension Award for 2012.

The award recognizes a qualified hypertension clinician for his or her dedication to the treatment and care of hypertensive patients.

A founding member of the American Society of Hypertension, Izzo has been active in its affairs, having served in multiple capacities, including as director and treasurer.

Izzo, who also is chief of medicine at Erie County Medical Center, specializes in the development of antihypertensive drugs and hypertension-related diagnostic and treatment devices. He conducts research on hypertension, stress and cardiovascular drug effects, and has been a lead or major participant in more than 20 multi-center clinical trials.