This article is from the archives of the UB Reporter.

Search under way for CAS dean

Published: December 16, 2010

The committee charged with finding a successor to College of Arts and Sciences Dean Bruce D. McCombe is seeking nominations of candidates and applicants for the position.

McCombe, who also holds the title of SUNY Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics, announced earlier this year that he is stepping down as dean in June after completing five years in the post.

The search committee, headed by Harvey G. Stenger Jr., dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, has been directed by Provost Satish K. Tripathi to recruit a new dean from within the current UB faculty.

The committee is holding open meetings at 4 p.m. on Jan. 20 and Jan. 21 in 101 Baldy Hall, North Campus, to answer questions about the search.

Applications, nominations and inquires should be sent to Stenger at by Feb. 1.

Information about the search, including a position profile, is available on the search website.

In addition to Stenger, members of the search committee are Martha Barton, associate dean for resource management, CAS; David Castillo, professor and chair, Department of Romance Language and Literatures, CAS; R. Lorraine Collins, associate dean for research and professor, Department of Community Health and Health Behavior, School of Public Health and Health Professions; Steve Diver, professor, Department of Chemistry, CAS; Joshua Dyck, assistant professor, Department of Political Science, CAS.

Also, Bruce Jackson, SUNY Distinguished Professor and James Agee Professor of American Culture, Department of English, CAS; Glendora Johnson-Cooper, social sciences librarian, Arts and Sciences Library; Jonathan Katz, associate professor and director, Visual Studies Doctoral Program, Department of Visual Studies, CAS; Andrea Markelz, associate professor, Department of Physics, CAS; Karin Michelson, professor and chair, Department of Linguistics, CAS.

Also, Jessie Poon, professor, Department of Geography, CAS; Lois Weis, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, Graduate School of Education; Eileen Silvers, chair, CAS Dean’s Advisory Council, and UB Foundation trustee; and Chase Ellis, graduate student in physics, presidential fellow and president, Physics Graduate Student Association.