University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

News and views for UB faculty and staff

UB Alumni Association elects first out-of-town president

Published July 18, 2013

Carol Gloff of Natick, Mass., has been elected to serve a two-year term as president of the University at Buffalo Alumni Association (UBAA), a group that represents the interests of more than 230,000 graduates around the world.

Gloff will be the first out-of-towner to serve as president.

A native of Western New York, Gloff earned her BS in pharmacy from UB in 1975 and a PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of California at San Francisco in 1984. She is founder and principal of Carol Gloff & Associates, a consulting firm that assists the medical products industry in the areas of regulatory affairs, quality assurance and compliance, and drug and biologic product development.

Gloff joined the UBAA Board of Directors in 2007 and was instrumental in helping to bring back a scholarship for female students. She also has chaired numerous board committees and served as vice president for two years.

As the association’s first president residing outside Western New York, Gloff will “bring a new perspective to the board and the needs of our alumni,” she said. “I hope my viewpoint will help us put a new lens on the work we do on behalf of the more than 230,000 UB grads around the world.”

Other officers elected for the 2013-14 term are Mary Garlick Roll, MS ’88 & BS ’84, of Williamsville, first vice president and co-chair, membership committee; Timothy P. Lafferty BS ’86, of East Aurora, immediate past president; Kenneth M. Jones, MA ’84, of Perry Hall, Md., vice president for finance and chair, finance committee; Peter J. Grogan, BS ’81, of East Aurora, chair, audit committee; Ruth Kleinman, BA ’05, of New York, N.Y., chair, chapters committee; James M. Militello, BA ’79, of Gainesville, Va., chapter leader representative; Wayne M. Nelligan, Attended, of Cheektowaga, co-chair, membership committee; Paul R. Hammer, BA ’78, of Williamsville, chair, programs and events committee; and Michael A. Anderson, BS ’97, of Hamburg, chair, student relations committee.