University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

News and views for UB faculty and staff

Campus News

PSS recognizes award winners


Published June 6, 2013

The Professional Staff Senate is honoring its own today, recognizing at its annual awards luncheon three staff members with Outstanding Service Awards for 2013, as well as five colleagues who received SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence.

The Outstanding Service Awards are given to full-time professional staff members for outstanding volunteer service to the community and excellence within individuals’ professional positions. This year’s recipients are Carol E. Adler, resource analyst, Academic Planning and Budget, and Anne Marie Swartz, instructional support technician, Koren Audiovisual Center, Charles B. Sears Law Library.

Carol Adler

Kathleen M. Kielar, training and business process redesign coordinator, Office of the Registrar, will receive the Outstanding Service to the Professional Staff Senate Award, given to a member of the professional staff who has provided outstanding service to the PSS as a member of the executive committee or as a member of a standing or ad-hoc committee or task force.

Anne Marie Swartz

Staff members who will be recognized for receiving the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service honoring professional staff performance excellence “both within and beyond the position” are Edward Brodka, group learning coordinator and career counselor, Office of Career Services; Jacqueline Hollins, assistant vice provost and director of academic advisement & student advising services; William McDonnell, senior associate dean, School of Architecture and Planning; Mary Virginia O’Brien, curator of education, UB Art Galleries; and John J. Wood, senior associate vice provost, Office of International Education. For more details about the Chancellor’s Award winners, see UB Reporter story.

A UB staff member since 1977, Carol Adler has served in her current position as resource analyst in the Office of Academic Planning and Budget since 2004. Her responsibilities include coordinating the annual resource management process— including budget plans, forecasting and three-year agreements, enrollment expectations and tuition revenue—for several academic and support units.

Kathleen Kielar

She oversaw the coordination and transfer of the university-wide comprehensive fee process. Her efforts in streamlining and simplifying the process led to the revision of campus policy and procedures regarding broad-based fees to comply with evolving SUNY policy.

Adler, who lost her mother to Alzheimer’s disease, also volunteers with the Alzheimer’s Association of Western New York, speaking to groups of caregivers, providing respite care in homes and in the office, and working at media and fundraising events. She received the Alzheimer’s association’s Volunteer of the Year Award in 2010.

Anne Marie Swartz joined the Law Library in 2000. She has primary responsibility for the audiovisual equipment—the laptops, DVD players, document cameras and projectors—used by faculty members and other presenters in the Law School, equipment that often must be set up, wired properly and tested in a 10-minute window between classes. She manages a rotating staff of about a dozen students and offers training and tips to help faculty members interested in learning PowerPoint and other audiovisual teaching technologies.

She is a member of the law school’s Web development committee and holds a master’s degree in library science.

Kathleen Kielar joined the UB professional staff in 2004 as director of staff educational services. In 2011 she moved to her current position as training and business process redesign coordinator, where she designs, develops and maintains online training resources for the HUB student information system.

A senator for the SUNY-wide Faculty Senate, Kielar has been active in the PSS for many years. She currently serves as secretary for the PSS and is a member of the senate’s Policy and Governance, and Mentoring subcommittees. She also is chair of the UBuddy Program.