University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

News and views for UB faculty and staff

Campus News

UB Engineering to work with Indian bank research institute

Engineering Dean Liesl Folks and Shri B. Sambamurhty, director of the Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology, show off an agreement they signed for the two organizations to work together. Photo: Debra Steckler


Published June 27, 2013

The School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) has inked a five-year deal to work with an Indian banking research institute.

The deal, formalized on June 18 with the signing of a memorandum of understanding, will promote collaboration between SEAS faculty, staff and students, and the Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT).

The Reserve Bank of India created the IDRBT in 1996. An autonomous organization, it serves as an institute of higher learning and provides information technology support to banks and other financial institutions.

While details of the agreement are still developing, the two organizations are expected to conduct research in the growing field of bank security, especially as it relates to cybersecurity. Initially, the agreement calls for faculty and student exchange programs, certificate programs and the joint coordination of workshops.

The collaboration is led by Venu Govindaraju, SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and B.M. Mehtre, associate professor at IDBRT, which is based in Hyderabad, India.

UB Engineering Dean Liesl Folks and IDRBT Director Shri B. Sambamurthy signed the agreement at the conclusion of a five-day conference at UB called “International Program on Information Assurance and Management.” The conference was organized by UB’s Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS) and its Center of Excellence in Information Systems Assurance Research and Education (CEISARE).

Srirangaraj Setlur, principal research scientist at CUBS, and Shambhu Upadhyaya, CEISARE director, also were recognized during the conference.