PSS elects new officers

Published January 15, 2015

Domenic Licata, instructional support technician for the Department of Art, has been elected chair of the Professional Staff Senate for a two year term, effective July 1.

Licata succeeds Ann Marie Landel, who served two terms as PSS chair.

He has been a member of the PSS’ Sustainable Living Committee for four years and the Executive Committee for two, and has served on a number of other UB and SUNY committees.

In the recent election, professional staff members also elected David Love, staff assistant in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, as vice chair and Sarah Piraino, academic adviser for the Access to College Excellence Program in Cora P. Maloney College, as secretary.

Love, who succeeds Laura Barnum as vice chair, is a member of the Staff Development and Services Committee and last year served on the organizing committee for the PSS’ daylong staff development conference.

Piraino, who succeeds Kathleen Kielar as secretary, is a member of the Executive Committee and co-chair of the Inclusion and Diversity Committee.

The Professional Staff Senate, founded in 1972, is the governance group for professional staff working on state, UB Foundation and Research Foundation lines. The PSS actively takes part in policy decisions of the university and promotes individual professional development.

All professional staff members working at UB are automatically members of the PSS.