Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Enrollments for Instructors, Students and TAs

Find answers to frequently asked questions about enrolling and removing students, adding Teaching Assistants and viewing a class roster.

When will my students appear in my course site?

By default, registered students will be added to an enabled UBlearns and iTunes U course site on the official start date of record as it displays on the Student Response Center Official Class Schedule.

> Learn more

Why is my course roster different from MyUB class list?

By default, UBlearns does not display information for students who resign or withdraw from a course. The MyUB class list displays information for students who resign or withdraw from a course.

> Learn more

How do instructors enroll a UB student, faculty, staff or auditor into a course?

Instructors can use the Users and Groups Control Panel to manually enroll students in a course.

> Learn more

How are Teaching Assistants added to courses?

You must manually enroll your Teaching assistants. 

> Learn more

Why am I seeing unexpected instructor enrollments?

As of summer 2011, with the introduction of HUB, multiple course instructors can be associated with a specific class. Previously only the instructor of record was automatically enrolled in UBlearns, now multiple instructors can be listed and are automatically enrolled.

How do I extend enrollments past changeover date?

If you have students with an Incomplete (final grade) and would like them to continue to access the course, see Student Access to Past Semester Courses. This process may also be used to give an entire class list access to a past semester course site. Only students selected on this screen by the instructor will have access to the course site; all other students will remain unavailable.

Why didn’t multiple enrollments work?

If any of the usernames are incorrect or already enrolled, no one will be enrolled in the course. You will receive an error message at the top of the page telling you which usernames were invalid. Once you correct or remove these invalid usernames, the entire set of users will be enrolled. 

How do I remove a student from my course?

The user availability indicator to No to remove their access to the course.

Modify User Availability

  1. Go to Control Panel > Users and Groups > Users.
  2. Locate the user via the search box.
  3. Use the drop-down menu next to username > Change User’s Availability in Course.
  4. Set the Availability to No > Submit.

How do I view the class roster?

Go to Control Panel > Users and Groups > Users
(mind the search box contents being displayed)

Did This Page Answer Your Question?

(Required)
 
Email, UBITName or phone number
(Required)
Enter both words below, separated by a space. If either word appears unclear, click 'Get a new challenge' to receive two new words.