Courses

Find answers to frequently asked questions about combining courses, copying content and accessing course sites.

Why does my courseID look different?

As of Summer 2011 semester courseID configuration has changed slightly with the introduction of HUB.

For example: 2116_23456

  • 211 represents the year (2011).
  • 6 represents the semester (6=Summer, 9=Fall, 1=Spring, 0=Winter).
  • The last five digits is the class number (registration number).

Why can’t I see my course menu or access the content of my course?

The course menu may be hidden. To restore it, look at the left edge of your course site about a quarter of the way down and click the grey arrow (Show Course Menu). 

Can I change my list of courses to show only the current semester?

  1. Go to the Courses page in Ultra Base Navigation.
  2. Select the term you would like to see from the term drop-down menu (middle of the section). The default value is All Courses.

Why is my course not listed in UB Learns?

There are a few reasons why you may not see your course in UB Learns.

Not listed as official instructor of record

If your course is not listed in the UB Learns Class Setup Tool, you may not have been listed as the official instructor of record. Contact your department scheduler to verify. If you are co-teaching, the instructor of record needs to enable the course and then add you as an instructor or TA.

Course is not enabled

If you do not see your course on the Courses page inside UB Learns, the course may need to be enabled using UB Learns Class Setup Tool.

Link is not clickable from MyUB

If the link on MyUB is not clickable, the course may need to be enabled using UB Learns Class Setup Tool.

Why am I unable to access the course sites I just enabled for use on UB Learns via the UB Learns Course Setup Tool?

New course sites are available within three hours after enabling the course.

Why can't my students see my course?

There are a few reasons why your students may not see your course in UB Learns.

  • You may not have enabled the course in UB Learns yet.
  • Your student may not be "officially" enrolled in the course. (You are able to manually enroll students not registered for your class.)
  • Drop/add changes to official enrollment take effect 8:30 a.m. the following morning.
  • By default students will see your course on the first day of class. You may choose to change the enrollment date.

How do I combine courses in UB Learns?

Instructors may combine the enrollments from multiple classes or multiple sections for UB Learns.

> Learn more about combining UB Learns courses

How do I copy content between course sites on UB Learns?

Instructors can use Course Copy to make an exact copy of your course.

> Learn more about copying content between courses

Can existing course content be moved to my Course Files location?

Yes., it can.

  1. Under Control Panel, select Packages and Utilities > Move Files to Course Files.
  2. Check Selecting this option will add all content in this course to Course Files.
  3. Click Submit.

Can I select a different page for my course entry point?

The Teaching Style settings control how the course appears to users and can be used to set the first page users see when they open the course.

> Learn more about customizing course styles

One of my students has an incomplete. How can the student access last semester's course?

UB Learns Course Setup Tool allows for management of previous semester UB Learns course sites that still appear under your Courses tab. You can grant access to a student who needs access to last semester’s course site to finish up an incomplete.

> Learn more about granting student access to past courses

How can I remove a past semester course?

UB Learns Course Setup Tool can be used to remove a course site and delete all its contents from UB Learns at the next system update.

> Learn more about deleting past semester courses

How do I make a course unavailable?

It is possible to make all or part of a course unavailable to students but accessible to instructors and TAs.

> Learn more about making courses unavailable

How can I re-use my course content next semester?

Exporting a course creates a package of course content that can later be imported into the same course or a different course.

> Learn more about reusing course content

Did This Page Answer Your Question?

(Required)
 
Email, UBITName or phone number
(Required)