gear icon.

Set Share Permissions for Embedded Panopto Videos in UBlearns

Operating System: All

Applies To: UB faculty and staff

Last Updated: September 5, 2018

Embed videos throughout your UBlearns course

Panopto videos embedded in UBlearns courses require properly set permissions in order for students to view them. Eliminate any possibility that you will have to grant permission to individual students by turning on permissions for all students.

Embedding Videos: Best Practices

1. If you have not done so, provision Panopto content in your UBlearns course:

  • See how to provision Panopto content.
  • A default folder is created for the course and section. The name will be similar to: 2189_15687:PTRLECRP:Cancer Pathology:218915687.
  • You can embed any videos placed in this course folder or in your My Folder or the subfolders below My Folder.
My Folder - add folder.

2. Add one or more subfolders under your My Folder in Panopto.

3. Move or upload the videos you want to embed into these folders.

4. Change the share permissions on a folder (or an individual file) to give students access:

Share icon.
  • Click on the folder or file.
  • In the right-hand corner of your screen, click the share icon.
invite specific people.

5. Under Who has access, click the down arrow.

We suggest choosing one of the following:

  • Anyone at the organization with the link: This option will enable viewing access for anyone who can log into UB's Panopto site. Recordings with this access are unlisted meaning the session won't be discoverable by anyone browsing the site. They can only be accessed by having the direct link and a valid UBIT login.
Specific people - can view.
  • Specific People: This option allows you to share the folder with specific people or groups of people such as the UBlearns viewer and creator groups for this specific course.
    • To give blanket permission to all students and faculty in the course add both the viewer and creator groups for the course.
    • In Invite people, begin typing the UBlearns course ID number and a list of viewer and creator groups pop-up. Choose the Viewer group for your course; Select Can View in the drop down box below and click Save changes.
      • Repeat this step if there are other faculty in your course who should have the ability to add, delete, and change content in this folder. Choose the Creator group for the course; Select Can Create in the drop down box below and click Save changes.
Still need help?

Contact the UBIT Help Center.