Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
UBIT SECURITY ALERT, 7/18/14:
Phishing attempt targets UB accounts

Browser Settings To Use with UBITName Login Services

Some browser settings store your UBITName and password and automatically log you back into UBITName Login services such as MyUB or UBlearns when the browser is opened again (regardless who opens it).

Use Secure Browser Settings

To help keep your UBITName Login services secure, make sure your Web browsers do not store this information.  Use the following settings:

Chrome (Windows, Macintosh, Ubuntu)

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. Choose Chrome > Settings. (In Ubuntu, choose Edit > Preferences)
  3. Under On startup, select Open the New Tab page.
  4. Scroll to the bottom, select Show advanced settings.
  5. Under Privacy, click Content settings.
  6. Under Cookies, select Keep local data only until you quit your browser.
  7. Click Done.

Firefox (Android)

  1. Select Menu > Settings.
  2. Tap Customize.
  3. Under Tabs, select Don't restore after quitting Firefox.

Firefox (Windows, Macintosh, Ubuntu)

  1. Choose your system:
    • For Windows, select ToolsOptions
    • For Macintosh, select Firefox > Preferences
    • For Ubuntu, select Edit > Preferences
  2. Under General, for When Firefox starts, choose Show my home page.
  3. Click Privacy.
  4. Under History, for Firefox will, choose Use custom settings for history.
  5. Under Keep until, choose I close Firefox.
  6. Select Clear History when Firefox closes.
  7. Click Close.
  8. Click OK.

Internet Explorer (Windows)

  1. Select Tools > Internet Options.
  2. On the General tab, under Browsing History, select Delete browsing history on exit.
  3. On the Advanced tab, select:
    • Do not save encrypted pages to disk
    • Empty temporary Internet files when the browser is closed
  4. Click OK.

Don't Save Passwords Unless Using a Passcode

If you saved your password when using MyUB, UBlearns, UBmail, or any other service that uses UBITName Login, anyone using that computer can log in as you to those services.

Don't save your UBITName and password or, if you must, be sure you are the only person using it and that access to your device is protected with a password or passcode.

Learn how to remove a saved password to UBITName Login services and disable the save password settings:

Chrome (Android)

  1. Select Menu > Settings > Basics.
  2. Tap Save passwords.
  3. Saved passwords will appear on the right. If any contain shibboleth.buffalo.edu, delete them.
  4. To turn Save passwords off, tap Off in the upper right corner.

Chrome (Windows, Macintosh, Ubuntu)

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. Choose Chrome > Settings. (In Ubuntu, choose Edit > Preferences)
  3. Under Passwords and forms, de-select Offer to save your web passwords.
  4. Click Manage saved passwords
  5. Look for Saved passwords that contain shibboleth.buffalo.edu. Select and delete any you find.
  6. Click Done.

Firefox (Android)

  1. Select Menu > Settings.
  2. Tap Privacy.
  3. De-select Remember passwords.
  4. Tap Clear private data.
  5. Select Cookies & active logins.
  6. Select Saved passwords.
  7. Tap Clear data.

Firefox (Windows, Macintosh, Ubuntu)

  1. Choose your system:
    • For Windows, select ToolsOptions
    • For Macintosh, select Firefox > Preferences
    • For Ubuntu, select Edit > Preferences
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click Saved Passwords.
  4. De-select Remember passwords for sites.
  5. Click Close.
  6. Click OK.

Safari (Macintosh)

  1. Select Safari > Preferences.
  2. Click AutoFill.
  3. De-select User Names and passwords.
  4. Click Passwords.
  5. Select any entry with shibboleth.buffalo.edu.
  6. Click Remove.

Safari (iOS)

  1. Select Settings > General.
  2. Under Passwords & AutoFill., turn off Names and Passwords.
  3. Select Saved Passwords.
  4. Click Edit.
  5. Select any entries that contain shibboleth.buffalo.edu.
  6. Click Delete.

Password Protect If Using Sync Services

Sync services (Firefox, Chrome) sync your browser's bookmarks and passwords to other devices. Either do not use sync or else use a password or passcode to access your devices.