Published September 9, 2020
If you don’t set a Passcode for your meeting, you’ll need to admit your guests using Zoom’s Waiting Room feature instead.
You can find out more about this change, including how the Waiting Room feature works in Zoom, by reading Zoom’s FAQ about this change.
In April, UB enabled Passcodes by default for all UB-hosted meetings. If you disable Passcodes for your meetings, you will need to use the Waiting Room feature instead beginning September 27, 2020.
With the Waiting Room feature enabled, you will need to admit guests to your meeting by clicking the Admit button next to their name in the Participants list. Once your meeting has started, you can disable the Waiting Room by clicking the Security button and selecting Enable Waiting Room.
If all your meeting participants are UB members, you can make your meetings even more secure by requiring a UB login before joining. Select Only authenticated users can join under Advanced Options when scheduling your meeting.
The latest version of Zoom (5.2.3 on Windows; 5.2.2 on macOS) features several new features you might notice in your next Zoom meeting, including:
For more information on using your UB Zoom account to host and participate in online meetings, visit buffalo.edu/ubit/zoom.
To report Zoombombing or other incidents related to security while using Zoom, contact the UBIT Help Center.