Frank V. Bright, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, SUNY Distinguished Professor, UB Distinguished Professor, A Conger Goodyear Chair

Specialty/Research Focus

Sensors, Arraysm and Detectors; Tailored Materials; Environmentally friendly chemistries; Chemical analysis of things as they are; Instrumentation

Professor Frank V. Bright’s research program centers on: [i] Professor Frank V. Bright earned a Chemistry B.S. degree from the University of Redlands in 1982. He studied the chemistry of superoxide and DDT under the direction of Prof. Julian L. Roberts. He completed his Ph.D. in 1985 at Oklahoma State University in Prof. Linda B. McGown’s laboratory. He conducted postdoctoral research with Prof. Gary M. Hieftje at Indiana University (1985-’87). In 1987, Frank joined the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York (UB) Department of Chemistry as a tenure-track Assistant Professor; he is currently SUNY & UB Distinguished Professor and the A. Conger Goodyear Professor of Chemistry. In 1994/95 Frank completed a highly productive sabbatical stay with Prof. Charles A. Eckert at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Professor Frank V. Bright’s research program centers on: hybrid materials for chemical sensing and anti-fouling coatings; [ii] molecular-level interactions in supercritical fluids and ionic liquids; and [iii] biodegradable platforms for accelerated wound restitution. Professor Frank V. Bright has co-authored more than 300 peer-reviewed publications on these subjects along with 10 issued US Patents. He has also served on numerous journal and corporate advisory boards. He has been awarded the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award (1988-’91), Eastern New York American Chemical Society Buck-Whitney Medal (1999), SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000), New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal (2003), Akron Section Award of the American Chemical Society (2003), A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry from the American Microchemical Society (2005), Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal of the Western New York American Chemical Society (2006), and Society for Applied Spectroscopy Fellow (2010).