Nine Faculty Recognized with Appreciation Awards

Published March 21, 2013

Nine faculty members received awards for their contributions to the university and the field of psychiatry at the Department of Psychiatry’s annual faculty appreciation event.


The awards, presented Dec. 7, recognized the following individuals:


Daniel Antonius, PhD
Outstanding contributions to research

Antonius, an assistant professor, was recognized for his role in revamping mental health services for the Department of Corrections and for expanding forensic psychiatry teaching and research.

His research focuses on violence and terrorism.

Victoria Brooks, MD
Outstanding contributions to research
Outstanding contributions to the Comprehensive Psychiatric Emergency Program (CPEP)

Brooks, an assistant professor, was recognized for research initiatives she implemented to enhance emergency psychiatry.

As associate director of CPEP, Brooks has played an important role in the development of clinical services.

Kimberley Chiappone, MD
Outstanding contributions to resident education

Chiappone, an assistant professor, is considered a leader in the instruction of residents in outpatient rotations. She was recognized for her teaching of cognitive behavioral therapy.

Nathan Diegelman, PhD
Outstanding achievements in child and adolescent psychiatry

Diegelman, a clinical assistant professor, was recognized for instructing child and adolescent psychiatry residents and for his clinical and consultation services.

Sergio Hernandez, MD
Outstanding contributions to CPEP
Outstanding contributions to medical student education

Hernandez, an assistant professor, has expanded the relationship between CPEP and the inpatient service. He was acknowledged for contributing to the teaching effort crossing both clinical services.

Dori Marshall, MD
Outstanding contributions to psychiatry’s clinical mission

Marshall, an assistant professor, was recognized for clinical service in her inpatient and emergency psychiatry roles.

Sadiqur Rahman, MD
Outstanding contributions to resident education

Rahman, a clinical assistant professor, supervises residents in inpatient rotations at the Buffalo Psychiatric Center. He focuses on clinical syndromes, pharmacological management of patients and interview skills. 

Beth Smith, MD
Outstanding achievements in child and adolescent psychiatry

Smith, an associate professor, was recognized for her work in the pediatric consultation-liaison service as well as her clinical contributions and cystic fibrosis research.

Beatrice Wood, PhD
Dr. Josie Olympia Award for overall contributions to the department

Wood, a professor, assumed a leadership role in the development of psychiatry’s website and chaired the departmental promotions committee.

She was also recognized for mentoring faculty throughout the department.

Honoring Psychiatry Department Affiliates

Kevin Penberthy, a friend of the department, was also recognized. He won an award for his outstanding contributions to the community and to the growth of the department.

Penberthy is deputy director in the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities. The award acknowledges his work in connecting systems surrounding mental health and developmental disabilities.