Affiliated Faculty Directory

The SMART community includes experts in systems and materials design, robotics, additive manufacturing, sustainable manufacturing and construction, human-system interaction and production ergonomics. Participating university centers and labs include: CEDAS; Digital Manufacturing Lab; Center for Architecture and Situated Technologies; and the Ecological Practices Graduate Research Group.

Paschalis Alexandridis

UB Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

508 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1183

Email: palexand@buffalo.edu

Amjad Aref

Professor, Department of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering; Director, Structural Engineering and Earthquake Simulation Laboratory

235 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4369

Email: aaref@buffalo.edu

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

243 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5914

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

Ann Bisantz

Professor and Chair, Industrial and Systems Engineering

342 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4714

Email: bisantz@buffalo.edu

Matthew Bolton

Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

407 Bell Hall

Phone: (716)-645-4332

Email: mbolton@buffalo.edu

Nicholas Bruscia

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

323 Crosby Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5926

Email: nbruscia@buffalo.edu

Laura Cavuoto

Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

324 Bell Hall

Phone: (716)-645-8405

Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

Souma Chowdhury

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

246 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-3059

Email: soumacho@buffalo.edu

Deborah Chung

Niagara Mohawk Chair, Professor of Materials Research, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

608 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3977

Email: ddlchung@buffalo.edu

Karthik Dantu

Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

338 Davis Hall; 106 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2670

Email: kdantu@buffalo.edu

Isaac Ehrlich

SUNY & UB Distinguished Professor of Economics, Chair of Economics; Melvin H. Baker Professor of American Enterprise, School of Management

415B Fronczak Hall; 238 Jacobs Management Center

Phone: (716) 645-8694

Email: mgtehrl@buffalo.edu

Ken English

Deputy Director, Sustainable Manufacturing and Advanced Robotics Technologies Community of Excellence

203 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2683

Email: kwe@buffalo.edu

Ehsan Tarkesh Esfahani

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

318 Jarvis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2593

Email: ehsanef@buffalo.edu

Laura Garofalo

Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

114 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5895

Email: lbg2@buffalo.edu

Yaowu Hu

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

238 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1459

Email: yaowuhu@buffalo.edu

Christopher Janson

Business Development Executive, NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

701 Ellicott Street, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 888-4795

Email: crjanson@buffalo.edu

Quanxi Jia

Empire Innovation Professor and National Grid Professor of Materials Research, Department of Materials Design and Innovation; Scientific Director, New York State Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics (CMI)

136 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1157

Email: qxjia@buffalo.edu

Vojislav Kalanovic

Professor of Practice, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

M. Amin Karami

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

1013 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5878

Email: karami@buffalo.edu

Harrison W Kelly III

Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering; Director, Center for Engineering Design and Applied Simulation

403 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4695

Email: hkelly@buffalo.edu

Omar Khan

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Architecture

122 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3486

Email: omarkhan@buffalo.edu

Kemper Lewis

Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Director, Sustainable Manufacturing and Advanced Robotics Technologies Community of Excellence

207 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

Tim Leyh

Executive Director, UB TCIE

212 Baird Research Park, 1576 Sweet Home Road

Phone: (716) 645-8800

Email: tleyh@buffalo.edu

Haiqing Lin

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

311 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1856

Email: haiqingl@buffalo.edu

Yong Li

Associate Professor, Strategy and Entrepreneurship

326K Jacobs Management Center

Phone: (716) 645-2522

Email: yl67@buffalo.edu

Mary McVee

Associate Professor, Literacy Education, Department of Learning and Instruction; Director, Center for Literacy and Reading Instruction

581 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2458

Email: mcvee@buffalo.edu

Aziz Mohausen

Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

323 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1592

Email: mohaisen@buffalo.edu

Nils Napp

Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

332 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4754

Email: nnapp@buffalo.edu

Robert Neubert

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Operations Management and Strategy; Director, UB Entrepreneurship Academy

352 Jacobs Management Center

Phone: (716)-645-5239

Email: raneuber@buffalo.edu

Mostafa Nouh

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

1012 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1449

Email: mnouh@buffalo.edu

Andrew Olewnik

Director of Experiential Learning Programs, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Research Assistant Professor,Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

412 Bonner Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2630

Email: olewnik@buffalo.edu

Georg Rafailidis

Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

01a Hayes Hall Annex B

Phone: (716) 829-5896

Email: grafaili@buffalo.edu

Rahul Rai

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

244 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1451

Email: rahulrai@buffalo.edu

Krishna Rajan

Professor and Erich Bloch Endowed Chair, Department of Materials Design and Innovation

Christopher Romano

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

326 Crosby Hall; 114 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5929

Email: ctromano@buffalo.edu

Richard Salvi

Distinguished Professor, Department of Communicative Disorders and Sciences

137Q Cary Hall

Phone: 716-829-5310

Email: salvi@buffalo.edu

Lynn Shanahan

Associate Professor, Literacy, Department of Learning and Instruction

587 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4028

Email: ls34@buffalo.edu

Jongmin Shim

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

240 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4372

Email: jshim@buffalo.edu

Mark Shepard

Associate Professor, Departments of Architecture and Media Study

Hayes Annex C01 / CFA 247

Phone: (716) 645-5889

Email: shepard6@buffalo.edu

Michael Silver

Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

Hayes Hall Annex B 01Q

Phone: (716) 829-5900; Fax: (555) 555-5554

Email: mssilver@buffalo.edu

Natalie Simpson

Associate Professor, Department of Operations Management and Strategy

351 Jacobs Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2443

Email: nsimpson@buffalo.edu

Tarunraj Singh

Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

1009 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1428

Email: tsingh@buffalo.edu

Barry Smith

SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Philosophy; Professor of Biomedical Informatics, Computer Science and Engineering, Neurology; Director, National Center for Ontological Research

126 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 650-0075

Email: phismith@buffalo.edu

Jin-Young Song

Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture

323 Hayes Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5898

Email: jsong11@buffalo.edu

Andreas Stavridis

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

224 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-7366

Email: astavrid@buffalo.edu

Edward Steinfeld

SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Architecture; Director, Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access (IDEA); Co-Director, RERC on Universal Design and the Built Environment; Co-Director, RERC on Accessible Public Transportation

225A Hayes Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5899

Email: arced@buffalo.edu

Christina Stocking

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Communicative Disorders and Sciences

103b Cary Hall

Phone: (716)-829-2797

Email: stockin@buffalo.edu

Hongyue Sun

Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

319 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4715

Email: hongyues@buffalo.edu

Mark Swihart

UB Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering; Executive Director, NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

506 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

Albert Titus

Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedial Engineering

332D Bonner Hall; 230J Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

Shambhu J. Upadhyaya

Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering; Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Education, SEAS; Director, Center of Academic Excellence in Information Systems Assurance, Research and Education

329 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

Olga Wodo

Assistant Professor, Department of Materials Design and Innovation

125 Bell Hall

Email: olgawodo@buffalo.edu

Gang Wu

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

309 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8618

Email: gangwu@buffalo.edu

Fei Yao

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Materials Design and Innovation

132 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5403

Email: feiyao@buffalo.edu

Minghui Zheng

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

1007 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716)-645-1432

Email: mhzheng@buffalo.edu

Chi Zhou

Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

401 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4706

Email: chizhou@buffalo.edu