Screening, Testing and Contact Tracing Protocol Committee

Committee Charge

Provide recommendations on the structure and operationalization of a COVID-19 screening, testing and contact tracing framework to facilitate a phased opening of the University at Buffalo in summer/fall 2020. The recommendations should be consistent, where applicable, with local, state and national policy, guidelines and best practices.   

The committee will also serve as a well-informed resource to the COVID-19 Executive Committee, offering guidance and advice regarding public health questions and concerns including when and how to reopen campus.

Preliminary recommendations due:  June 8, 2020

Committee Membership

  • Michael Cain, Chair, Vice President for Health Sciences, Dean, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Christopher Bartolomei, Chief of Police
  • Brian Bratta, Associate Athletic Director, Sports Medicine and Wellness Services
  • Robert Cenczyk, Director of Academic Operations, School of Nursing
  • John DellaContrada, Vice President for University Communications
  • Jocelyn Jakubus, Director, Presidential Events and Initiatives
  • David Pawlowski, Biosafety Officer, Environment, Health & Safety
  • Chris Putrino, Director of Employee Relations
  • Chunming Qiao, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair, Computer Science and Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Joseph Raab, Director, Environment, Health & Safety
  • Jay Roorbach, Senior Emergency Planning Coordinator 
  • Thomas Russo, Professor and Chief of Infectious Disease, Medicine, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • John Sellick, Professor, Medicine, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and Physician, UB Student Health Services
  • Kenneth Snyder, Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and Vice President of Physician Quality, Kaleida Health
  • Susan Snyder, Director, Student Health Services
  • John Tomaszewski, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Peter A. Nickerson, PhD Chair, Pathology and Anatomical Sciences, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • David Vasbinder, Associate Director, Environment, Health & Safety
  • Jean Wactawski-Wende, Dean, School of Public Health and Health Professions