Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
log for Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools

The University at Buffalo (UB) has maintained continuous accreditation by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education since 1921.

UB and Middle States

The University was last reaccredited through the Periodic Review Report in 2009. The next decennial Self-Study Review and site visit is scheduled for 2013-2014. The Self-Study Review enables the University to assess the strengths and weaknesses of current programs and institutional effectiveness against the criteria that comprise its mission and the Standards of Excellence articulated by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. This process promotes continuous program improvement and documentation of student learning outcomes.

UB is committed to providing an excellent education to its undergraduate, graduate, and professional students by continued accreditation through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). UB’s accreditation is driven principally by three important considerations:

  • clear evidence of institutional integrity and effectiveness at all levels of decision-making in furtherance of the university’s core educational purpose,
  • demonstrable educational effectiveness embedded in an ongoing system for continuous improvement in educational outcomes,
  • evidence of continuing fiscal soundness as reflected in sustained institutional access to federal funds (Title IV student financial aid).

Standards for Accreditation

To be accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education an institution must provide evidence that it meets the characteristics of excellence and criteria as articulated in the fourteen Standards for Accreditation as described in the links below.

Detailed information is provided in the publication “Characteristics of Excellence in Higher Education: Eligibility Requirements and Standards for Accreditation” published by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

UB’s Decennial Reaccreditation

Mike Ryan is currently coordinating the decennial reaccreditation process.  The self-study is due in Fall of 2013, and the site visit will take place in Spring 2014.

Reaccreditation Steering Committee


  • Michael E. Ryan, director, Office of University Accreditation and Assessment (Co-Chair)
  • Carol M. VanZile-Tamsen, associate director, Office of University Accreditation and Assessment (Co-Chair)
  • Patricia G. Armstrong, director of admissions
  • Kathleen K. Bissonnette, coordinator for evaluation, assessment and planning, Office of Student Affairs
  • Marisha Blattberg, instructional support associate, Office of the Registrar
  • Kathleen M. Boje, associate professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and vice chair and director of BS Pharmaceutical Sciences Major
  • Fenice B. Boyd, associate professor, Department of Learning and Instruction
  • Elaine R. Cusker, associate dean for undergraduate education, Office of the Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
  • Stephen C. Dunnett, vice provost for international education
  • Diane E. Elze, associate professor, School of Social Work
  • Jeffrey R. Errington, professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Lucinda M. Finley, vice provost for faculty affairs
  • Howard G. Foster, professor emeritus, School of Management
  • Krista Hanypsiak, administrative director, University Honors College
  • John T. Ho, SUNY Distinguished Service Professor, vice provost for graduate education and dean of the graduate school
  • Perry M. Hogan, professor, Department of Physiology and Biophysics
  • Jeri Jaeger, associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jean H. Lamarche, associate professor, School of Architecture and Planning
  • Ann Marie Landel, chair, Professional Staff Senate
  • Kathleen T. Lucke, associate dean for academic affairs, School of Nursing
  • Joseph P. Mantione, assistant vice provost, Office of Institutional Analysis
  • William J. McDonnell, associate dean, School of Architecture and Planning
  • James S. Nadbrzuch, associate vice president for resource and support services, University Life and Services
  • Stefanos C. Papazaharias, assistant dean for undergraduate education, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kara C. Saunders, university registrar
  • Eileen C. Sherman, deputy to the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs
  • Robert G. Shibley, dean, School of Architecture and Planning
  • Regina S. Toomey, senior associate vice provost and director, Undergraduate Academic Services
  • John E. Van Benschoten, associate dean for undergraduate education, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Brian Waldrop, director, Student Advisement and Services, College of Arts and Sciences
  • A. Scott Weber, vice provost and dean of undergraduate education
  • Claude E. Welch, SUNY Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Political Science
  • Paul T. Wietig, clinical associate professor, interim director and training program coordinator, Teaching and Learning Center
  • John J. Wood, associate vice provost for international education
  • Ezra B. Zubrow, Chair, Faculty Senate.