UB to hold 169th commencement on Sunday

Release Date: May 15, 2015

BUFFALO, N.Y. – More than 1,300 students are candidates to receive degrees during University at Buffalo’s 169th University Commencement to be held at 10 a.m. May 17 in Alumni Arena, North Campus.

President Satish K. Tripathi will deliver remarks. Abigail LaPlaca, a UB Presidential Scholar and 2015 Fulbright Scholar, is the student speaker.

Robert G. Wilmers, chairman and chief executive officer of M&T Bank Corporation, will be awarded the Chancellor Charles P. Norton Medal, UB’s highest honor.

John T. Ho, vice provost for graduate education and dean of the Graduate School, and Gerald Lippes, UB council member emeritus, will receive the UB President’s Medal in recognition of extraordinary service to the university.

Also during the ceremony, SUNY honorary doctorates will be presented to UB alumnus Christopher Scolese, director of NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, and Academy Award- and Grammy Award-winning artist David Shire.

Vocalists are Erin M. Bonura and Aaron Wilson, both of whom will receive degrees in music theatre.

Video footage of the commencement ceremony will be available to media after 4 p.m. at https://ubcfavideo.box.com/s/akw97wq9uqv91jigj65cycj95chwr6c3

Some 5,645 students were candidates to receive degrees during UB’s 2015 commencement season, which includes the 169th University Commencement and 15 other commencement ceremonies held beginning May 1 and continuing through May 23.

Press arrangements: Marcene Robinson, onsite, at 716-207-5814.

Media Contact Information

Marcene Robinson
News Content Manager
Dental Medicine, Libraries, Nursing, Pharmacy

Tel: 716-645-4595