University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media


News about awards and recognition earned by UB and members of our community. (see all topics)


Ferric Contrast and NanoHydroChem are among five winners in the statewide event.


Donald Mager, professor in the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been named a fellow of three prominent academic societies: the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) and the International Society of Pharmacometrics (ISoP).


A University at Buffalo-led team of researchers has received a $1.35 million grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Common Fund for Glycoscience to increase knowledge of glycans, a common but little understood class of biomolecules that help bacteria attach to host surfaces, including those in the mouth.


The late Peter Ayers Nickerson, a beloved UB faculty member who spent nearly 50 years teaching in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has given $4.5 million to the school.


A UB social work researcher will use a $2.4 million HHS grant to gather evidence and produce resources to improve the services state agencies offer to Native American families involved in child welfare cases.


Robert Wahler, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice in the UB School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been named a fellow in the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists.


The University at Buffalo School of Nursing and Catholic Health System’s Sisters of Charity Hospital have been awarded the 2017 American Association of Colleges of Nursing Exemplary Academic-Practice Partnership Award.


Robert Jacobi, a native of Olean, is an expert on geologic faults and fractures.


UB communications VP's achievements include leading the most comprehensive brand and identity strategy in the university's 176-year history, convening senior communicators council.


Deborah Raines, PhD, associate professor in the University at Buffalo School of Nursing, has been named a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN).