University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Topic: Science and Technology

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

12/8/16

Diana Aga

Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; Great Lakes pollution; emerging contaminants including pharmaceuticals, nanomaterials and flame retardants; wastewater treatment; antibiotic resistance

Phone: 716-645-4220

Email: dianaaga@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Victor Albert

Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: evolutionary biology, genomics, plant genomics, flowers, junk DNA

Phone: 716-645-4983

Email: vaalbert@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Praveen Arany

Assistant Professor of Oral Biology

Expertise: therapeutic uses of lasers and light, particularly in wound healing and tooth regeneration

Phone: 716-829-3479

Email: prarany@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Jason Briner

Associate Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Arctic glaciers and ice sheets, response of glaciers and ice sheets to climate change

Phone: 716-645-4326

Email: jbriner@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John Cerne

Professor of Physics

Expertise: physics in everyday life, condensed matter physics, high-temperature superconductors, graphene, optics

Phone: 716-645-2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Timothy Cook

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: molecular self-assembly, photochemistry, fluorescence, phosphorescence, batteries, alternative energy

Phone: 716-645-4327

Email: trcook@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John L. Crassidis

CUBRC Professor in Space Situational Awareness

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Beata Csatho

Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, sea level rise, Greenland Ice Sheet, Antarctic ice loss, glaciers, remote sensing, using satellite data and laser altimetry to measure the Earth

Phone: 716-645-4325

Email: bcsatho@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Helen Domske

Associate Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes, water pollution, invasive species, Asian carp, zebra mussels, quagga mussels

Phone: 716-645-3610

Email: hmd4@cornell.edu

2/14/17

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Joseph A. Gardella Jr.

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; hazardous waste; microbeads; surface chemistry of plastics; controlled release of pharmaceuticals; wound healing; tissue engineering; STEM education

Phone: 716-645-1499

Email: gardella@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Omer Gokcumen

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: human and primate evolution, ancient humans (including Neanderthals and Denisovans), anthropological genomics

Phone: 716-645-4937

Email: omergokc@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Tracy K. P. Gregg

Associate Professor of Geology

Expertise: volcanology, volcanoes on Mars and Venus, the search for water on Mars, volcanism on the moon, deep-sea eruptions, basaltic lava flows

Phone: 716-645-4328

Email: tgregg@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Richard M. Gronostajski

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: stem cell research and therapies; genetic engineering, testing and disease; genome editing; personalized or precision medicine; congenital developmental disorders

Phone: 716-829-3471

Email: rgron@buffalo.edu

12/29/16

Shermali Gunawardena

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: neurons, axonal transport, biology of neurodegenerative diseases

Phone: 716-645-4915

Email: sg99@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Marc Halfon

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: genetics; gene expression; gene drive; genome editing; mosquito genome; cell growth, differentiation and development

Phone: 716-829-3126

Email: mshalfon@buffalo.edu

12/21/16

John F. Hall

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Wind energy; design, analysis and optimization of wind farms

Phone: 716-645-5946

Email: johnhall@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Ia Iashvili

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, search for supersymmetric particles

Phone: 716-645-6611

Email: iashvili@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Josep Jornet

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: terahertz-band communication networks, Internet of Nano-Things, brain-computer interfaces

Phone: 716-645-1607

Email: jmjornet@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Avto Kharchilava

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, phenomena beyond the Standard Model

Phone: 716-645-6251

Email: avto@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Will Kinney

Professor of Physics

Expertise: astronomy, cosmic inflation, accelerating universe, dark matter/dark energy, solar storms, cosmic microwave background physics, public outreach in science

Phone: 716-645-5360

Email: whkinney@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Charlotte Lindqvist

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: evolutionary biology, evolution of polar bears, hybridization of polar bears and brown bears, genomics

Phone: 716-645-4986

Email: cl243@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kathryn Medler

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: taste, taste cells, senses, peripheral nervous system, neuronal signaling

Phone: 716-645-4947

Email: kmedler@buffalo.edu

1/3/17

Sarah Muldoon

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Expertise: brain activity, brain networks, network neuroscience

Phone: 716-645-6284

Email: smuldoon@buffalo.edu

2/15/17

HyungSeon Oh

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: the electrical grid, including smart grids, the economics of power systems and renewable energy

Phone: 716-645-1022

Email: hso1@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Dimitris A. Pados

Clifford C. Furnas Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: bandwidth, wireless communications, the electromagnetic spectrum

Phone: 716-645-1150

Email: pados@buffalo.edu

1/3/17

Salvatore Rappoccio

Assistant Professor of Physics

Expertise: particle physics, particle detectors

Phone: 716-645-6250

Email: srrappoc@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Adel Sadek

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: traffic, applying information technology to crash risk, border-crossings, environmental effects, infrastructure and land-use design, traffic in bad weather

Phone: 716-645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Monica Stephens

Assistant Professor of Geography

Expertise: mapping social phenomena, volunteered geographic information (VGI), Big Data, social media, gender and technology, gender and the Internet, digital divides

Phone: 716-645-0499

Email: mgstephe@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Mark Swihart

Executive Director of UB's New York State Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Expertise: nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry of materials, aerosol science

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos

Senior Research Scientist at the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: addiction; reward pathways in the brain; addictive disorders including drug abuse, alcoholism and obesity 

Phone: 716-881-7520

Email: pthanos@ria.buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/12/16

Jack Tseng

Assistant Professor of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

Expertise: mammalian evolution; evolution of carnivores (including dogs, cats, bears, hyenas and relatives); sabre-toothed and other big cats

Phone: 716-829-2752

Email: jacktsen@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cybersecurity, hacking, encryption, cyberattacks, protecting infrastructure from cyber threats

Phone: 716-645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Greg A. Valentine

Director of the Center for GeoHazards Studies

Expertise: volcanoes, volcanic eruptions, disaster preparedness, supervolcanoes

Phone: 716-645-4295

Email: gav4@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Arun Vishwanath

Associate Professor of Communication

Expertise: cybersecurity, cyberbehavior, online deception

Phone: 716-645-1163

Contact: avishy@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Eva Zurek

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: superconductors, high-pressure chemistry, crystals, materials science, materials discovery, computational chemistry

Phone: 716-645-4332

Email: ezurek@buffalo.edu