University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Field: Health and Medicine

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

12/5/16

Jared Aldstadt

Associate Professor of Geography

Expertise: Zika virus, dengue fever, chikungunya, mosquito-borne illness, disease transmission, epidemiology

Contact: Jared Aldstadt can be reached most quickly through Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at 716-645-9069 or rstern2@buffalo.edu.

Phone: 716-645-0481

Email: geojared@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Daniel Antonius

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Expertise: terrorism, violence, aggression, CTE and behavior, mental health and the legal system

Phone: 716-898-5290

Email: danielan@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Stephanie Anzman-Frasca

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Expertise: childhood obesity, children’s eating habits, infant and child behavior and development  

Contact: Stephanie Anzman-Frasca can be reached through Ellen Goldbaum in University Communications at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu.

12/5/16

Praveen Arany

Assistant Professor of Oral Biology

Expertise: therapeutic uses of lasers and light, particularly in wound healing and tooth regeneration

Phone: 716-829-3479

Email: prarany@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Edward Bednarczyk

Chair and Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Expertise: medical marijuana, tobacco sales in pharmacies, headaches and migraines, pharmacy practice

Contact: Edward Bednarczyk can be contacted most quickly through Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at 716-645-9069 or rstern2@buffalo.edu.

Phone: 716-645-4805

Email: eb@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Richard D. Blondell

Vice Chair for Addiction Medicine

Expertise: addiction, substance abuse, opioids

Phone: 716-816-7237

Email: blondell@buffalo.edu

5/2/17

Matthew Bolton

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: Medical alarm masking

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: mbolton@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Elizabeth Bowen

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Expertise: homelessness, homeless youth and young adults, health issues affecting homeless populations

Phone: 716-645-1258

Email: eabowen@buffalo.edu

1/10/17

Susan K. Cahn

Professor of History

Expertise: transgender athletes, gender and sexuality in sports, homophobia in sports, women’s history, feminist theory, history of chronic illness, history of mental illness

Phone: 716-645-8418

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

11/29/17

Lora Cavuoto

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: ergonomics, occupational safety and health, fatigue monitoring, worker quality of life

Phone: 716-645-4696

Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Sebastian Ciancio

Chair of Periodontics and Endodontics

Expertise: oral health and hygiene, prevention and treatment of gum disease, effectiveness of flossing

Phone: 716-829-3848

Email: ciancio@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

R. Lorraine Collins

Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: substance abuse, malt liquor and marijuana use, drinking restraint, smoking, women's issues

Phone: 716-829-6951

Email: lcollins@buffalo.edu

10/31/17

Catherine Cook-Cottone

Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Expertise: yoga, mindfulness, embodied self-regulation, eating disorders, anxiety-based disorders

Phone: 716-645-1128

Email: cpcook@buffalo.edu  

12/5/16

Anne B. Curtis

Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and Chair of Medicine

Expertise: heart health, heart rhythm abnormalities, atrial fibrillation, cardiac devices, pacemakers, implantable cardiac defibrillators, cardiac problems in winter

Phone: 716-859-4828

Email: abcurtis@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Rina Das Eiden

Senior Research Scientist at the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: parental substance abuse and its effects on children; fetal alcohol spectrum disorder; children’s social-emotional development

Phone: 716-887-3350

Email: eiden@ria.buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Steven L. Dubovsky

Professor and Chair of Psychiatry

Expertise: trauma, depression, mood disorders, psychosis, psychosomatic medicine

Phone: 716-898-5940

Email: dubovsky@buffalo.edu

9/20/17

Gretchen Ely

Associate Professor of Social Work

Expertise: access to abortion and contraception, reproductive health disparities, HPV vaccine

Phone: 716-645-1243

Email: geely@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Karl Fiebelkorn

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Expertise: laws and regulations affecting pharmacy practice, medication errors, systems for improving practice sites, adult asthma, pharmacy business plan modeling

Phone: 716-645-2824

Email: kdf@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Torin J. Finver

Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine

Expertise: addiction, substance abuse, opioids

Phone: 404-468-1579

Email: torinfin@buffalo.edu

1/3/17

Jo L. Freudenheim

Chair of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Expertise: cancer risk factors, diet and cancer, carcinogens

Phone: 716-829-5375

Email: jfreuden@buffalo.edu

8/2/17

Robert J. Genco

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Oral Biology, Periodontics, Microbiology

Expertise: periodontal disease, oral health and microbiome, and systemic health

Phone: 716-645-8131

Email: rjgenco@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Gary A. Giovino

Professor and Chair of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: tobacco use, risk factors for nicotine addiction, smoking cessation, effect of exercise and nutrition on smoking cessation

Phone: 716-829-6953

Email: ggiovino@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Omer Gokcumen

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: human and primate evolution, ancient humans (including Neanderthals and Denisovans), anthropological genomics

Phone: 716-645-4937

Email: omergokc@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Susan Green

Co-director of the Institute on Trauma and Trauma-Informed Care

Expertise: trauma, trauma-informed care in organizations and service delivery systems

Phone: 716-645-1249

Email: sagreen@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Richard M. Gronostajski

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: stem cell research and therapies; genetic engineering, testing and disease; genome editing; personalized or precision medicine; congenital developmental disorders

Phone: 716-829-3471

Email: rgron@buffalo.edu

12/29/16

Shermali Gunawardena

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: neurons, axonal transport, biology of neurodegenerative diseases

Phone: 716-645-4915

Email: sg99@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Marc Halfon

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: genetics; gene expression; gene drive; genome editing; mosquito genome; cell growth, differentiation and development

Phone: 716-829-3126

Email: mshalfon@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

David Herzberg

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: opioid epidemic; history of prescription drugs, street drugs and other psychoactive substances; drug wars; drugs and popular culture

Phone: 716-645-8416

Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Adrian Juarez

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Expertise: LGBT health, HIV prevention, migrant health

Phone: 716-829-3218

Email: juarezad@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Lynn T. Kozlowski

Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: smoking, e-cigarettes, nicotine addiction, tobacco policy, FDA regulations on nicotine products, tobacco use

Phone: 716-829-6770

Email: lk22@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Jenifer Lawrence

Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Administration

Expertise: grief counseling, clinical implications and treatment of child, adolescent and adult grief and loss, suicide prevention

Phone: 716-645-1353

Email: jlawrenc@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

John J. Leddy

Director of the Concussion Management Clinic

Expertise: concussions, post-concussion syndrome, sports medicine

Phone: 716-829-5501

Email: leddy@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth E. Leonard

Director of the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: alcohol, substance abuse and aggression; effects of substance use on marriage, families and relationships; interpersonal (domestic) violence; medical and recreational marijuana; prescription painkillers  

Phone: 716-887-2566

Email: leonard@ria.buffalo.edu

10/30/17

Ciprian N. Ionita

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: 3-D medical imaging, 3-D printing in medicine, neuroimaging, cardiovascular imaging, endovascular disease

Phone: 716-829-5413

Email: cnionita@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kathryn Medler

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: taste, taste cells, senses, peripheral nervous system, neuronal signaling

Phone: 716-645-4947

Email: kmedler@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Robert Miletich

Interim Chair and Professor of Nuclear Medicine

Expertise: nuclear medicine, nuclear neurology, brain scans and other neuroimaging techniques and neurodegenerative diseases

Phone: 716-838-5889

Email: miletich@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Margaret Moss

Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the School of Nursing

Expertise: American Indian health and wellness, disparities in health care, health policy, aging

Phone: 716-829-4347

Email: mpmoss@buffalo.edu

1/3/17

Sarah Muldoon

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Expertise: brain activity, brain networks, network neuroscience

Phone: 716-645-6284

Email: smuldoon@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Nancy Nielsen

Senior Associate Dean for Health Policy in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Expertise: Affordable Care Act, health care policy, Medicare and Medicaid policy, clinicians’ response to the opioid epidemic

Phone: 716-207-6866

Email: nielse@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Jamie Ostrov

Professor of Psychology

Expertise: subtypes of aggression and victimization, developmental psychopathology, media effects on children, peer relationships, applied developmental psychology

Phone: 716-645-3680

Email: jostrov@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Michael J. Poulin

Associate Professor of Psychology

Expertise: empathy, human generosity, stress, caregiving

Phone: 716-645-0518

Email: mjpoulin@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Deborah Raines

Associate Professor of Nursing

Expertise: pregnancy, labor and delivery, maternal and newborn care

Phone: 716-829-5790

Email: draines@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Samina Raja

Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: food access, food systems planning, food and urban planning, local government food policy

Phone: 716-829-5881

Email: sraja@buffalo.edu

6/23/17

Pavani Kalluri Ram

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Environmental Health; Co-Director, UB Community of Excellence for Global Health Equity

Expertise: public health consequences of natural disasters, global health inequities, child survival and mortality, handwashing

Phone: 716-829-5380

Email: pkram@buffalo.edu

9/7/17

Murali Ramanathan

Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Expertise: multiple sclerosis (MS), disease-modifying drugs

Phone: 716-645-4846

Email: murali@buffalo.edu

10/26/17

Margaret Sallee

Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy

Expertise: university work environment, work/family policies, work/life balance, faculty diversity, gender on college campuses, graduate student experience

Phone: 716-645-1091

Email: mwsallee@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Richard Salvi

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Communicative Disorders and Sciences

Expertise: tinnitus, hearing, noise-induced hearing loss, hyperacusis, central auditory system

Phone: 716-829-5310

Email: salvi@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Mark Seery

Associate Professor of Psychology

Expertise: stress, coping

Phone: 716-645-0239

Email: mdseery@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

John A. Sellick Jr.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Expertise: infectious disease, outbreaks and pandemics, vaccinations, bioterrorism planning, flu, Ebola

Phone: 716-862-8758

Email: jsellick@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Andrew Talal, MD

Professor of Medicine

Expertise: diagnosing and treating hepatitis C virus, developing and evaluating new therapies for liver disease  

Phone: 716-829-6208

Email: ahtalal@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Jennifer L. Temple

Associate Professor of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, and Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: caffeine use among kids, energy drinks, obesity

Phone: 716-829-5593

Email: jltemple@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos

Senior Research Scientist at the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: addiction; reward pathways in the brain; addictive disorders including drug abuse, alcoholism and obesity 

Phone: 716-881-7520

Email: pthanos@ria.buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

John M. Violanti

Research Professor of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Expertise: police stress, health and suicide, PTSD

Phone: 716-829-5367

Email: violanti@buffalo.edu

5/4/17

Jean Wactawski-Wende

Dean of the School of Public Health and Health Professions

Expertise: women’s health, menopause, osteoporosis, reproductive health, cancer, the microbiome, periodontal disease

Phone: 716-829-5374

Email: jww@buffalo.edu

5/8/17

Deborah Waldrop

Professor of Social Work

Expertise: hospice, aging, end of life decision-making, caregiving, grief

Phone: 716-645-1231

Email: dwaldrop@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Kimberly S. Walitzer

Deputy Director of the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: alcoholism, nicotine addiction, Alcoholics Anonymous, anger management 

Phone: 716-887-2494

Email: walitzer@ria.buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Hilary Weaver

Co-director of the Immigrant and Refugee Research Institute

Expertise: Indigenous populations, Native Americans, refugees, cultural competence in the helping professions

Phone: 716-645-1226

Email: hweaver@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Xiaozhong Wen

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Expertise: diet and health in infants and young children, origins of obesity, smoking cessation during pregnancy

Phone: 716-829-6811

Email: xiaozhon@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Peter Winkelstein

Executive Director of the Institute for Healthcare Informatics

Expertise: electronic health records, electronic medical records, advanced medical informatics, ethics and informatics, biomedical informatics, genomics and informatics

Phone: 716-881-7546

Email: pwink@buffalo.edu