University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Field: Engineering

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

2/14/17

Joseph Atkinson

Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes water levels, flooding and water pollution

Phone: 716-645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

9/13/17

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: electronic waste, sustainable design, right to repair  

Phone: 716-645-2593; 716-645-2328

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

5/2/17

Matthew Bolton

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: Medical alarm masking

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: mbolton@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Lora Cavuoto

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: ergonomics, occupational safety and health, fatigue monitoring, worker quality of life

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John L. Crassidis

CUBRC Professor in Space Situational Awareness

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Ning Dai

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental

Expertise: wastewater recycling for potable use, disinfection byproducts

Phone: 716-645-4015

Email: ningdai@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Amit Goyal

Director of UB RENEW Institute

Expertise: renewable energy; environmental and water issues; high-temperature superconductivity; materials science

Phone: 716-645-5920

Email: agoyal@buffalo.edu

12/21/16

John F. Hall

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Wind energy; design, analysis and optimization of wind farms

Phone: 716-645-5946

Email: johnhall@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

James N. Jensen

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: public water systems, drinking-water treatment, wastewater treatment

Phone: 716-645-4007

Email: jjensen@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Josep Jornet

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: terahertz-band communication networks, Internet of Nano-Things, brain-computer interfaces

Phone: 716-645-1607

Email: jmjornet@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Mark H. Karwan

Praxair Professor of Operations Research

Expertise: sports scheduling, especially in the NFL

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kemper E. Lewis

Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: advanced manufacturing, mass customization, engineering design

Phone: 716-645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

2/15/17

HyungSeon Oh

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: the electrical grid, including smart grids, the economics of power systems and renewable energy

Phone: 716-645-1022

Email: hso1@buffalo.edu

6/21/17

Chunming Qiao

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Self-driving and connected cars, specifically the computing systems for these technologies

Phone: 716-645-4751

Email: qiao@computer.org

12/8/16

Alan Rabideau

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: pollution, groundwater contamination, radioactive and hazardous waste management, mathematical modeling

Phone: 716-645-4003

Email: rabideau@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Adel Sadek

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: traffic, applying information technology to crash risk, border-crossings, environmental effects, infrastructure and land-use design, traffic in bad weather

Phone: 716-645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

9/19/17

Surajit Sen

Professor of Physics

Expertise: wave behavior, granular systems, quasi-equilibrium, nonequilibrium and chaotic phenomena, collisions, shock mitigation, sociophysics

Phone: 716-645-6151, 716-907-4961

Email: sen@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Mark Swihart

Executive Director of UB's New York State Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Expertise: nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry of materials, aerosol science

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cybersecurity, hacking, encryption, cyberattacks, protecting infrastructure from cyber threats

Phone: 716-645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Andrew Whittaker

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: earthquake engineering, blast engineering, risk assessment of nuclear power plants

Phone: 716-645-4364

Email: awhittak@buffalo.edu