Experts by Expertise: Food

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

7/10/18

Paresh Dandona

Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes

Expertise: diabetes; obesity; endocrinology; insulin, testosterone and other hormone treatments; anti-inflammatory agents

Phone: Dandona can be contacted through Ellen Goldbaum in UB Media Relations at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu

Email: dandona.diabetes@gmail.com

12/19/18

Myles S. Faith

Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Expertise: childhood obesity, children’s eating habits, family health

Phone: 716-645-1124

Email: mfaith@buffalo.edu

8/22/18

Jessica Kruger

Clinical Assistant Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: binge-watching, consumption, addictive behaviors, substance use and abuse, health behavior decision-making

Phone: 716-829-6748

Email: jskruger@buffalo.edu

2/19/19

Lucia A. Leone

Assistant Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: food access, mobile produce markets, WIC, obesity prevention, physical activity

Phone: 716-829-6953

Email: lucialeo@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Charles Lindsey

Associate Professor of Marketing

Expertise: consumer behavior, advertising, marketing strategy and research, brand loyalty, serving and package sizes

Contact: Charles Lindsey can be reached most quickly through Jackie Ghosen in the School of Management Communications Office at 716-645-2833 or mgt-pr@buffalo.edu.

12/20/18

Kathryn Medler

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: taste, taste cells, senses, peripheral nervous system, neuronal signaling

Phone: 716-645-4947

Email: kmedler@buffalo.edu

10/16/19

Danielle Meyer

Clinical Director of the Dietetic Internship Program in the Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Expertise: fad diets (keto, carb-free), debunking nutrition myths, oncology nutrition, geriatric nutrition, supplements

Phone: 716-829-5652

Email: dsmeyer@buffalo.edu

6/17/19

Teresa Quattrin

Senior Associate Dean for Research Integration

Expertise: childhood diabetes; family-based obesity treatment; clinical translational research and trials, with a focus on diversity and inclusion

Phone: 716-323-0170

Email: quattrin@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Samina Raja

Professor of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: food access, food systems planning, food and urban planning, local government food policy

Phone: 716-829-5881

Email: sraja@buffalo.edu

5/3/18

Sarah A. Robert

Associate Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: teaching as an occupation; teachers’ unions; labor issues in education; global education reform; gender and equity in education; school food

Phone: 716-645-4046

Email: sarah@buffalo.edu

5/14/19

Stefan Ruhl

Professor of Oral Biology

Expertise: saliva, oral bacteria, glycobiology of bacterial adhesion, oral microbiome, oral health

Phone: 716-829-6073

Email: shruhl@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Jennifer L. Temple

Associate Professor of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, and Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: caffeine use among kids, energy drinks, obesity

Phone: 716-829-5593

Email: jltemple@buffalo.edu

12/27/18

Kari J. Winter

Professor of American Studies

Expertise: gender, feminism, race, class, slavery, politics of food, literature

Phone: 716-645-0827

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu