University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Astronomy, Physics and Space

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

12/5/16

John Cerne

Professor of Physics

Expertise: physics in everyday life, condensed matter physics, high-temperature superconductors, graphene, optics

Phone: 716-645-2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John L. Crassidis

CUBRC Professor in Space Situational Awareness

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Tracy K. P. Gregg

Associate Professor of Geology

Expertise: volcanology, volcanoes on Mars and Venus, the search for water on Mars, volcanism on the moon, deep-sea eruptions, basaltic lava flows

Phone: 716-645-4328

Email: tgregg@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Ia Iashvili

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, search for supersymmetric particles

Phone: 716-645-6611

Email: iashvili@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Avto Kharchilava

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, phenomena beyond the Standard Model

Phone: 716-645-6251

Email: avto@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Will Kinney

Professor of Physics

Expertise: astronomy, cosmic inflation, accelerating universe, dark matter/dark energy, solar storms, cosmic microwave background physics, public outreach in science

Phone: 716-645-5360

Email: whkinney@buffalo.edu

1/4/17

Salvatore Rappoccio

Assistant Professor of Physics

Expertise: particle physics, particle detectors

Phone: 716-645-6250

Email: srrappoc@buffalo.edu

9/19/17

Surajit Sen

Professor of Physics

Expertise: wave behavior, granular systems, quasi-equilibrium, nonequilibrium and chaotic phenomena, collisions, shock mitigation, sociophysics

Phone: 716-645-6151, 716-907-4961

Email: sen@buffalo.edu