Experts by Expertise: Astronomy, Physics and Space

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

7/2/18

Javid Bayandor

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Mid-air collisions; crashes involving drones (unmanned aircraft systems); space exploration and missions; crashworthiness; ballistics; advanced aerospace design

Phone: 716-645-1422

Email: bayandor@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

John Cerne

Professor of Physics

Expertise: physics in everyday life, condensed matter physics, high-temperature superconductors, graphene, optics

Phone: 716-645-2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

2/11/19

James M. Chen

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: materials science, turbulence, energy harvesting, hypersonic/supersonic vehicles, aerodynamics, nonequilibrium phenomena, high-performance computing

Phone: 716-645-3163

Email: chenjm@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

John L. Crassidis

Samuel P. Capen Professor

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

10/24/17

Tracy K. P. Gregg

Associate Professor of Geology

Expertise: volcanology, volcanoes on Mars and Venus, the search for water on Mars, volcanism on the moon, deep-sea eruptions, basaltic lava flows

Phone: 716-645-4328

Email: tgregg@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Ia Iashvili

Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, search for supersymmetric particles

Phone: 716-645-6611

Email: iashvili@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Avto Kharchilava

Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, phenomena beyond the Standard Model

Phone: 716-645-6251

Email: avto@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

William H. Kinney

Professor of Physics

Expertise: astronomy, cosmic inflation, accelerating universe, dark matter/dark energy, solar storms, cosmic microwave background physics, public outreach in science

Phone: 716-645-5360

Email: whkinney@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Salvatore Rappoccio

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: particle physics, particle detectors

Phone: 716-645-6250

Email: srrappoc@buffalo.edu

9/19/17

Surajit Sen

Professor of Physics

Expertise: wave behavior, granular systems, quasi-equilibrium, nonequilibrium and chaotic phenomena, collisions, shock mitigation, sociophysics

Phone: 716-645-6151, 716-907-4961

Email: sen@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Hao Zeng

Professor of Physics

Expertise: magnetism, spintronics, nanomaterials, materials science, materials for solar energy harvesting

Phone: 716-645-5749

Email: haozeng@buffalo.edu