Experts by Expertise: Arts and Culture

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

5/28/19

Susan K. Cahn

Professor of History

Expertise: gender and sexuality in sports, homophobia in sports, women’s history, feminist theory, history of chronic illness, history of mental illness

Phone: 716-645-8418

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

David Castillo

Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures

Expertise: early modern culture, Baroque literature, horror and fantasy, new media and culture

Phone: 716-645-0869

Email: dc63@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

David Felder

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Music

Expertise: composition: chamber, choral, orchestral and electronic music. Music production: concerts, recording and festivals

Email: felder@buffalo.edu

10/22/19

Cecil Foster

Professor of Transnational Studies

Expertise: Canadian studies; multiculturalism, politics, race, ethnicity and immigration in Canada

Phone: 716-645-0786

Email: cecilfos@buffalo.edu

12/14/16

Melanie Green

Associate Professor of Communication

Expertise: persuasion, power of narrative, storytelling, online friendships, trust and deception online

Phone: 716-645-1508

Email: mcgreen2@buffalo.edu

5/10/19

David Herzberg

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: opioid epidemic; history of prescription drugs, street drugs and other psychoactive substances; drug wars; drugs and popular culture

Phone: 716-645-8416

Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Jonathan D. Katz

Associate Professor of Global Gender and Sexuality Studies

Expertise: queer history, art history, Cold War-era art

Phone: 716-645-0547

Email: jonathandavidkatz@gmail.com

2/13/18

Erin Kearney

Associate Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: language teaching and learning, intercultural competence and language education, language teacher training and development

Phone: 716-645-4058

Email: ekearney@buffalo.edu

8/22/18

Jessica Kruger

Clinical Assistant Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: binge-watching, consumption, addictive behaviors, substance use and abuse, health behavior decision-making

Phone: 716-829-6748

Email: jskruger@buffalo.edu

8/22/19

Elizabeth Mazzolini

Associate Professor of English

Expertise: Mount Everest, mountaineering deaths, climbing technology, consumerism, material culture, garbage, culture of waste

Phone: 716-645-0691

Email: mazz@buffalo.edu

10/16/19

Ndubueze L. Mbah

Assistant Professor of History

Expertise: African history; the Atlantic World; colonialism; gender in West Africa; history of slavery and emancipation; Boko Haram

Phone: 716-645-8415

Email: ndubueze@buffalo.edu

10/16/19

Danielle Meyer

Clinical Director of the Dietetic Internship Program in the Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Expertise: fad diets (keto, carb-free), debunking nutrition myths, oncology nutrition, geriatric nutrition, supplements

Phone: 716-829-5652

Email: dsmeyer@buffalo.edu

9/11/19

Elizabeth "Libby" Otto

Associate Professor of Art History and Visual Studies

Expertise: the Bauhaus, history of photography, European and American Art, visual culture, theories of montage, gender issues, art and religion

Phone: 716-645-5334

Email: eotto@buffalo.edu

9/23/19

Adam Rome

Professor of Environment and Sustainability

Expertise: environmental movement in the U.S., environmental history, Earth Day, sustainable business, suburban sprawl

Phone: 716-645-8665

Email: adamrome@buffalo.edu

2/6/18

Maria Runfola

Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: music education, technology and music learning, multimodality, children’s singing voices

Phone: 716-645-4028

Email: runfola@buffalo.edu

3/28/18

David Schmid

Associate Professor of English

Expertise: popular culture, cultural studies, celebrity, crime, manhood, the monstrous, contemporary British and American fiction, American literary and cultural treatments of the city

Phone: 716-645-0679

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Kristin Stapleton

Professor of History

Expertise: modern China; U.S.-China relations; Chinese cities; history of the family, socialism and humor in China

Phone: 716-645-5645

Email: kstaple@buffalo.edu

 

12/26/18

Phillips Stevens Jr.

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Expertise: cultural anthropology, religion, spiritualism, cults, superstition, witchcraft, zombies, vampires, curses, rites of passage, populism, nativism, xenophobia

Phone: 716-645-0416

Email: pstevens@buffalo.edu

10/18/18

Despina Stratigakos

Professor of Architecture

Expertise: women and diversity in architecture, gender and modernity in European cities, German architecture, Nazi propaganda, Hitler's residences

Phone: 716-829-3486

Email: dms58@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, distressed neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu

12/27/18

Kari J. Winter

Professor of American Studies

Expertise: gender, feminism, race, class, slavery, politics of food, literature

Phone: 716-645-0827

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu