University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Arts and Culture

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

1/10/17

Susan K. Cahn

Professor of History

Expertise: transgender athletes, gender and sexuality in sports, homophobia in sports, women’s history, feminist theory, history of chronic illness, history of mental illness

Phone: 716-645-8418

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

David Castillo

Professor and Chair of Romance Languages and Literatures

Expertise: early modern culture, Baroque literature, horror and fantasy, new media and culture

Phone: 716-645-0869

Email: dc63@buffalo.edu

5/2/17

David Felder

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Music

Expertise: composition: chamber, choral, orchestral and electronic music. Music production: concerts, recording and festivals

Email: felder@buffalo.edu

12/14/16

Melanie Green

Associate Professor of Communication

Expertise: persuasion, power of narrative, storytelling, online friendships, trust and deception online

Phone: 716-645-1508

Email: mcgreen2@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

David Herzberg

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: opioid epidemic; history of prescription drugs, street drugs and other psychoactive substances; drug wars; drugs and popular culture

Phone: 716-645-8416

Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Jonathan D. Katz

Chair of Art

Expertise: queer history, art history, Cold War-era art

Phone: 716-645-0547

Email: jonathandavidkatz@gmail.com

12/6/16

Elizabeth "Libby" Otto

Executive Director of UB's Humanities Institute

Expertise: the Bauhaus, history of photography, European and American Art, visual culture, theories of montage, gender issues, art and religion

Phone: 716-645-5334

Email: eotto@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

David Schmid

Associate Professor of English

Expertise: popular culture, cultural studies, celebrity, crime, manhood, the monstrous, contemporary British and American fiction, American literary and cultural treatments of the city

Phone: 716-645-0679

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

12/12/16

Phillips Stevens Jr.

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Expertise: cultural anthropology, religion, spiritualism, cults, superstition, witchcraft, zombies, vampires, curses, rites of passage, populism, nativism, xenophobia

Phone: 716-645-0416

Email: pstevens@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Despina Stratigakos

Professor of Architecture

Expertise: women and diversity in architecture, gender and modernity in European cities, German architecture, Nazi propaganda, Hitler's residences

Phone: 716-829-3486

Email: dms58@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, distressed neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Kari J. Winter

Director of the Gender Institute at UB

Expertise: gender, feminism, race, class, slavery, politics of food, literature

Phone: 716-645-0827

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu