Experts by Expertise: Artificial Intelligence and Robotics

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

11/8/19

Javid Bayandor

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Mid-air collisions; crashes involving drones (unmanned aircraft systems); space exploration and missions; crashworthiness; ballistics; advanced aerospace design

Phone: 716-645-1422

Email: bayandor@buffalo.edu

6/10/19

David Doermann

Director of the University at Buffalo Artificial Intelligence Institute

Expertise: artificial intelligence, pattern recognition, machine learning, deep learning, computer vision, image analysis and recognition, document analysis, media forensics

Phone: 716-645-1557

Email: doermann@buffalo.edu

12/20/18

Kemper E. Lewis

Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: advanced manufacturing, mass customization, engineering design

Phone: 716-645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

6/22/20

Joanne Song McLaughlin

Associate Professor of Economics

Expertise: labor economics; health insurance mandates; age discrimination; older workers; AI and the future of work

Phone: 716-645-8685

Email: jsmclaug@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Chunming Qiao

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Self-driving and connected cars, specifically the computing systems for these technologies

Phone: 716-645-4751

Email: qiao@computer.org

5/19/20

John E. Tomaszewski

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Peter A. Nickerson, PhD, Chair of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

Expertise: clinical laboratory testing; COVID-19 testing; renal, immunological and urological pathology; digital and computational pathology; kidney disease; anatomical gifts

Phone: 716-829-2846

Email: johntoma@buffalo.edu. Tomaszewski can also be reached through Ellen Goldbaum in University Communications at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu, or Douglas Sitler in University Communications at 716-645-9069 or drsitler@buffalo.edu.