Experts by Expertise: Alcohol, Tobacco and Drug Use

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

12/19/18

Edward Bednarczyk

Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Expertise: medical marijuana, tobacco sales in pharmacies, headaches and migraines, pharmacy practice

Contact: Edward Bednarczyk can be contacted most quickly through Marcene Robinson in UB Media Relations at 716-645-4595 or marcener@buffalo.edu.

Phone: 716-645-4805

Email: eb@buffalo.edu

11/7/19

Richard D. Blondell

Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine

Expertise: addiction, substance abuse, opioids

Contact: Richard Blondell can be reached most quickly through Ellen Goldbaum in University Communications at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu, or Douglas Sitler in University Communications at 716-645-9069 or drsitler@buffalo.edu.

12/7/16

R. Lorraine Collins

Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: substance abuse, malt liquor and marijuana use, drinking restraint, smoking, women's issues

Phone: 716-829-6951

Email: lcollins@buffalo.edu

6/21/19

Gary A. Giovino

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: nicotine addiction, smoking, tobacco policy, smoking cessation

Phone: 716-829-6953

Email: ggiovino@buffalo.edu

5/10/19

David Herzberg

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: opioid epidemic; history of prescription drugs, street drugs and other psychoactive substances; drug wars; drugs and popular culture

Phone: 716-645-8416

Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

2/21/19

Lynn T. Kozlowski

Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: nicotine addiction, smoking, vaping, tobacco and e-cigarette policy, FDA regulations on nicotine products

Phone: 716-829-6770

Email: lk22@buffalo.edu

8/22/18

Jessica Kruger

Clinical Assistant Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: binge-watching, consumption, addictive behaviors, substance use and abuse, health behavior decision-making

Phone: 716-829-6748

Email: jskruger@buffalo.edu

12/11/18

Kenneth E. Leonard

Director of the Clinical and Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: alcohol, substance abuse and aggression; effects of substance use on marriage, families and relationships; interpersonal (domestic) violence; medical and recreational marijuana; prescription painkillers  

Phone: 716-887-2566

Email: leonard@ria.buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Andrew Talal, MD

Professor of Medicine

Expertise: diagnosing and treating hepatitis C virus, developing and evaluating new therapies for liver disease  

Phone: 716-829-6208

Email: ahtalal@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Jennifer L. Temple

Associate Professor of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, and Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: caffeine use among kids, energy drinks, obesity

Phone: 716-829-5593

Email: jltemple@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos

Senior Research Scientist at the Clinical and Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: addiction; reward pathways in the brain; addictive disorders including drug abuse, alcoholism and obesity 

Phone: 716-881-7520

Email: pthanos@ria.buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Hilary Weaver

Professor of Social Work

Expertise: Indigenous populations, Native Americans, refugees, cultural competence in the helping professions

Phone: 716-645-1226

Email: hweaver@buffalo.edu