University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Northeast Modern Language Association

Annual Book Award

The NeMLA Book Award is an annual award bestowed upon the best unpublished book-length manuscript on American, British, and other modern language literature and cultural studies or on related areas. The author must be a current member with a demonstrated commitment to NeMLA (a convention participant, or a member for at least one year in the last five years). Normally two manuscripts are selected for prizes, one on English language literature and one on literature in one of the other modern languages, but the NeMLA book committee may choose not to make one award or both in a year if it feels the manuscripts are not worthy of honorable mention and publication.

  • The prize includes a $750 cash prize, and NeMLA will assist winners with contacting presses about the publication of their manuscripts (at the winner's discretion). The winner will be announced at the annual business meeting, held at the end of NeMLA's spring convention.
  • For consideration, please email a copy of your manuscript to

Application Deadline: October 15, 2017

Criteria for Annual Book Award

  • Manuscript must be written in English.
  • Submission must include an overview of the proposed book (2-3 single-spaced pages), as well as a round-up of competing books and a brief explanation of the uniqueness of the proposed project.
  • Unrevised dissertations and manuscripts under contract with a publisher will not be considered for this award.