Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Our Researchers

ISTL Director

Adel Sadek

Adel Sadek

ISTL Industry Consortium and ISTL Steering Committee member; Professor, Director of the Transportation Systems Engineering Lab, and Chair of UB 2020’s Strategic Strength in Extreme Events

Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

233 Ketter Hall

Phone: 716-645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

ISTL Associate Directors

Panos Anastasopoulos

Panos Anastasopoulos

Assistant Professor

Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

241 Ketter Hall

Phone: 716-645-2000

Email: panastas@buffalo.edu

Nallan Suresh

Nallan C. Suresh

ISTL Industry Consortium and ISTL Steering Committee member; UB Distinguished Professor & Chair

Operations Management and Strategy, School of Management

326F Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-3279

Email: ncsuresh@buffalo.edu

Core Faculty

Rajan Batta

Rajan Batta

ISTL Multidisciplinary MS Degree Coordinator and Steering Committee member; Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Industrial and Systems Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

410 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-0972

Email: batta@buffalo.edu

Wen Dong

Wen Dong

Assistant Professor

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

306 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1589

Email: wendong@buffalo.edu

Jurriaan DeJong

Jurriaan De Jong

Assistant Professor

Operations Management and Strategy, School of Management

Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-3251

Email: jurriaan@buffalo.edu

Qing He

Qing He

Stephen Still Assistant Professor in Transportation Engineering and Logistics

Joint appointment with Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering and Industrial and Systems Engineering

313 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-3470

Email: qinghe@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao

Jing Gao

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

350 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Jee Eun (Jamie) Kang

Jee Eun (Jamie) Kang

Assistant Professor

Industrial and Systems Engineering

409 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-2427

Email: jeeeunka@buffalo.edu

Mark H. Karwan

Mark H. Karwan

ISTL Multidisciplinary MS Degree Coordinator and Steering Committee member; Professor

Industrial and Systems Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

305 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

Tevfik Kosar

Tevfik Kosar

ISTL Steering Committee member; Associate Professor and Director, Data Intensive Distributed Computing Laboratory

Computer Science and Engineering

338-J Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

Changhyun Kwon

Changhyun Kwon

Assistant Professor

Industrial and Systems Engineering

318 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-4705

Email: chkwon@buffalo.edu

Chunming Qiao

Chunming Qiao

ISTL Industry Consortium member; Professor and IEEE Fellow

Computer Science and Engineering

312 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4751

Email: qiao@buffalo.edu

Jun Ru

Jun Ru

Assistant Professor

Operations Management and Strategy, School of Management

326D Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-3831

Email: junru@buffalo.edu

Natalie Simpson

Natalie C. Simpson

ISTL Steering Committee member; Associate Professor

Operations Management and Strategy, School of Management

351 Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-2443

Email: nsimpson@buffalo.edu

Lu Su

Lu Su

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

321 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3180

Email: lusu@buffalo.edu

Charles (Xiaoqiang) Wang

Charles (Xiaoqiang) Wang

ISTL Multidisciplinary MS Degree Coordinator; Associate Professor

Operations Management and Strategy, School of Management

326M Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-3412

Email: cxwang@buffalo.edu

Qian Wang

Qian Wang

Assistant Professor

Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

231 Ketter Hall

Phone: 716-645-4365

Email: qw6@buffalo.edu

Mike Mingcheng Wei

Mike (Mingcheng) Wei

Assistant Professor

Operations Management and Strategy Department School of Management

326C Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-5299

Email: mcwei@buffalo.edu

Sean Wu

Sean (Changxu) Wu

Associate Professor

Industrial and Systems Engineering

414 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-4715

Email: seanwu@buffalo.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Alex Anas

Alex Anas

Professor

Economics

415 Fronczak Hall

Phone: 716-645-8663

Email: alexanas@buffalo.edu

Daniel B. Hess

Daniel B. Hess

Associate Professor

Urban and Regional Planning

291 Hayes Hall

Phone: 716-829-5326

Email: dbhess@buffalo.edu

Kevin Hulme

Kevin Hulme

Senior Research Associate

New York State Center For Engineering Design & Industrial Innovation (NYSCEDII)

5 Norton Hall

Phone: 716-645-2685

Email: hulme@buffalo.edu

Sara Metcalf

Sara Metcalf

Associate Professor

Geography

115 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: 716-645-0479

Email: smetcalf@buffalo.edu

HyungSeon Oh

HyungSeon Oh

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

210 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1022

Email: hso1@buffalo.edu

JiYoung Park

JiYoung Park

Assistant Professor

Urban and Regional Planning

Hayes Hall C 05L

Phone: (716) 829-5331

Email: jp292@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Zirnheld

Jennifer Zirnheld

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

213 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1033

Email: zirnheld@buffalo.edu