iSEED News


Seventy-five student-scientists presented projects during the Eighth Annual Buffalo Summer Research Conference, an interdisciplinary forum marking the culmination of their summer research in Buffalo.


The Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement recognized staff, students, trainees and faculty during the 2018 Faculty-Staff Recognition Awards ceremony.


Researchers investigated whether urinary, sexual and bowel dysfunction contributes to emotional distress during the first two years after treatment, and whether distress may in turn further decrease function.


Collaboration and a sense of community were on display at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences during a daylong event to address Buffalo’s African-American health disparities.


The summit's keynote panel stressed that coordination and intentionality are key to integrating inclusive excellence campus-wide.


The University at Buffalo will host a public screening of "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks" followed by a panel discussion on the ethical concerns surrounding research consent, privacy and ownership of DNA.


Medical News Today reports on a study led by UB researcher Zhen Yan, who has shown that an approved anticancer drug can significantly restore the social deficits associated with autism spectrum disorder in mice.


Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor of pharmacology and toxicology and senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion, has been awarded the inaugural Dolores Shockley Minority Mentoring Award from the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP).


From developing a pneumonia vaccine to desalinating water with the sun, here are some highlights from a year of discovery.


Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has received a UB Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program (CSTEP) Distinguished Research Mentor Award.


The Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences celebrated scientific achievements, outstanding service and significant teaching contributions during its 2017 Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards event May 18.


Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion and SUNY Distinguished Professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has been awarded the UB President’s Medal, given in recognition of extraordinary service to the university.


The University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has named SUNY Distinguished Professor Marilyn E. Morris, PhD, as chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. 


Researchers in the Department of Pediatrics are using a $2.8 million National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant to study if providing more non-food alternatives could help prevent childhood obesity.


Research by faculty in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology shows that synthetic chemicals commonly found in insecticides and garden products bind to receptors that govern our biological clocks.


Anthony J. Jones, a doctoral student in the neuroscience program, has received a two-year fellowship award in pharmacology/toxicology from the PhRMA Foundation.


Study of more than 1,500 men highlights need to make treatment decisions as informed and supported as possible, researchers say.


Margaret Moss, PhD, JD, assistant dean of diversity and inclusion in the UB School of Nursing, was honored with two 2016 Book of the Year Awards by the American Journal of Nursing for her book, “American Indian Health and Nursing.”


A new preclinical study by researchers in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology finds exercise, coupled with methamphetamine, may help recovery of those addicted to the drug and increase their odds of avoiding relapse.


Eight faculty and one staff member from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 13th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence. 


The Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement is developing a workshop series to help deepen medical residents’ understanding of the cultural issues that affect health care delivery.


The ACS is one of the world’s largest scientific societies and publisher of some of the most prominent journals in the field of chemistry.


Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, and Mark R. O’Brian, PhD, are recipients of the 2015-16 Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award.


Graduate student and trainee researchers and their mentors in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology received positive feedback on in-depth studies they presented at the 2016 Behavior, Biology and Chemistry: Translational Research in Addiction meeting.


Ninety-five student-scientists presented projects during the 2015 Buffalo Summer Research Day, an interdisciplinary forum marking the culmination of their summer research in Buffalo.


UB faculty member Jennifer Zirnheld has been named by INSIGHT into Diversity magazine as one of 100 Inspiring Women in STEM


UB faculty member Luis Colón can add another honor to his long list of mentoring awards: the 2016 Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences from the American Chemical Society.


Trip will include an awards ceremony hosted by the National Science Foundation and a visit to the White House.


Newborn sleep, insomnia and nutrition interventions are under the microscope as eight undergraduate students conduct summer research in the University at Buffalo School of Nursing.


Chemistry professor Luis Colón will head to the White House to receive a national award for excellence in mentoring.


The School of Public Health and Health Professions will recognize National Public Health Week April 3-12 with a series of events that highlight and celebrate public health efforts locally and globally.


Nearly 100 student-scientists from across the country showcased their original biomedical research during the 2014 Buffalo Summer Research Day.


Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, professor and chair of pharmacology and toxicology, has been named a State University of New York Distinguished Professor, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.


Rajendram Rajnarayanan, PhD, assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has been honored with a 2014 President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring.

BUFFALO, N.Y. – Marilyn Morris, PhD, vice chair of the University at Buffalo Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been elected president of pharmaceutical sciences’ premier organization, the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS).

UB alumnus and science educator Clifton Poodry will return to UB to advise students in the CLIMB UP program how best to navigate their own paths in science.


The one woman Kerri Pryce dedicates his research to can hardly remember his name.


Provost Charles Zukoski told student scientists attending Biomedical Research Day that a lifetime of curiosity and discovery led him to a career as a research scientist.