Get to Know Our Scholars

UB is the proud home of several prestigious award winners like Madelaine Britt, UB's first Truman Scholar. Take a look though our scholars gallery, where we highlight some of UB's other award winners and scholarship applicants.

Esther Buckwalter, 2012 Morris K. Udall Scholarship winner

2017 Fulbright, Boren

The University at Buffalo’s aspiration to become a “top-producing Fulbright institution” took another significant step forward this month when a record number of undergraduates were chosen as recipients of Fulbright awards.

Samah Asfour

Samah Asfour will teach English in Jordan as part of her Fulbright English teaching assistantship.

Barber, Mukupa, Shibley

Three UB students have received prestigious Fulbright Fellowships, the most recent class in what has become a UB tradition of multiple winners in the highly competitive, nationally-recognized scholarly competition.

Sean Bearden

An applied mathematics and physics whiz whose innate gift to do mathematical formulas in his head confounded his teachers in his formative years, has won the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Bearden, Michki

Two University at Buffalo physics majors will receive the Barry Goldwater Scholarship, a prestigious national honor.

Maxwell Bileschi

Maxwell "Max" Bileschi has won the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education award, given nationally to outstanding undergraduate sophomores and juniors studying mathematics, science or engineering.

Sarah Boerschig

Sarah Boerschig, a history and Asian studies major and University Honors College scholar, is the first UB student to receive the 2012 David L. Boren Scholarship from the National Security Education Program.

Madelaine Britt

Madelaine Britt learned she has become UB's first Truman Scholar during a surprise meeting with President Satish K. Tripathi.

Esther Buckwalter

Esther Buckwalter—winner of the nationally coveted Morris K. Udall Scholarship—has all the tools to solve a significant piece of the global water crisis. The extra bonus Buckwalter brings is her ability to charm those around her while doing it.

Dylan Burns

he United States-United Kingdom Fulbright Commission has selected Dylan Burns, an architect major, to participate in its Fulbright Summer Institute to study at Nottingham Trent University.

Courtney Burroughs

Life in Russia was fun, but challenging, for Fulbright scholar Courtney Burroughs.

Bradley Cheetham

While many lament the end of the Space Shuttle program, Brad Cheetham sees opportunity.

Dundas, Tucciarone

University at Buffalo chemical engineering majors Christopher Dundas and Phillip Tucciarone are now a part of the prestigious group of students to receive the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

Fortman, Gosrich, Stewart

Fortman and Gosrich are among 240 students chosen nationwide from among 1,286 students nominated for the Goldwater scholarship from 470 institutions of higher education. Stewart received an honorable mention.

Gunnar Haberl

Legal studies and political science dual major, Gunnar Haberl, represents UB at the Center for Study of the Presidency and Congress

Sean Kaczmarek

Sean Kaczmarek has been chosen to receive a Marshall Scholarship, an honor many consider the country’s most prestigious scholarship.

Kong, Lin, Monakhova

Kong, Lin and Monakhova are among 260 award winners chosen by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. Congress established the program in 1986 to honor Barry Goldwater, a five-term senator from Arizona.

Abigail LaPlaca

Abigail LaPlaca will use her Fulbright award to travel to Panama to work with teachers who teach young children.

Christopher Llop

A passion for the environment drives Udall Scholar Chris Llop.

Claire Lochner

Claire Lochner, who graduated from the University at Buffalo with a degree in electrical engineering and mathematics, has been chosen to take part in the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship.

Jasmine May

Jasmine May was in the quietest library on UB’s North Campus when she found out she’d won the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater award.

Kristina Monakhova

Kristina Monakhova, an electrical engineering major, was awarded the John R. Sevier Memorial Scholarship Award, which annually recognizes two students nationwide who are interested in a science or engineering career, with an emphasis on space research or space science education.

Anna Porter

 A UB anthropology major will take her passion for the “connections through time” to Durham University in Great Britain.

Jill Ricotta

It took just a few weeks at UB for Jill Ricotta to discover that her true passion lay halfway around the world.

Casey Rothberg

Casey Rothberg, only the second UB student ever to win the competitive David L. Boren Scholarship, fits the scholarship program’s profile on paper well.

Daniel Salem

Every year a select few students are awarded the nationally renowned Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. Daniel Salem, a chemical engineering major at the UB, has now joined that prestigious group.

Anna Smith

Anna Smith has earned distinction around the University at Buffalo campus for her — to say the least — nontraditional career path.

Phillip Tucciarone

Phillip Tucciarone, a chemical and biological engineering major, is the first UB student to receive the Marshall Scholarship since 1988.