Clinical and Translational Science Institute Annual Forum — March 17, 2021

virtual conference.

CTSI Annual Forum

March 17, 2021 — 12:30 to 5:00 p.m.

Online via Zoom


12:30 p.m.


1:30 p.m.  



Michael Cain, MD, VP for Health Sciences, University at Buffalo and Dean, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences              




“State of the CTSI”
Timothy Murphy, MD, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Jacobs School
Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute





Keynote: “COVID-19 Vaccines: Past, Present and Future”
John R. Mascola, MD, Director
Dale and Betty Bumpers Vaccine Research Center
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
National Institutes of Health


2:30 p.m.                                                Break

2:55 p.m.


3:00 - 3:45 p.m.

brian clemency.

Overview: Clinical Research Achievement Awards and Presentations
Anne Curtis, MD, SUNY Distinguished Professor; Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine, Jacobs School
Clinical Research Achievement Awards Committee Chair


2019 Award Winner and Finalists

John Leddy, MD, Award Winner
Clinical Professor, Department of Orthopaedics, Jacobs School
“Early Subthreshold Aerobic Exercise for Sport-Related Concussion: A Randomized Clinical Trial,” April 2019 JAMA Pediatrics




Dhyan Chandra, PhD, Award Finalist
Associate Professor of Oncology
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
“Cytochrome c Deficiency Confers Apoptosome and Mitochondrial Dysfunction in African-American Men With Prostate Cancer,” April 2019 American Association for Cancer Research


Brian Clemency, DO, MBA, Award Finalist
Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Jacobs School
“Hospital Observation Upon Reversal (HOUR) With Naloxone: A Prospective Clinical Prediction Rule Validation Study,” January 2019 Continuing Medical Education in Academic Emergency Medicine

3:45 p.m.                                                Break

4:00 - 4:45 p.m.

teresa quattrin.

2020 Award Winner and Finalists

Teresa Quattrin, MD, Award Winner
UB Distinguished Professor, Senior Associate Dean for Research Integration, Jacobs School
“Golimumab and Beta-Cell Function in Youth With New-Onset Type 1 Diabetes,” November 2020 The New England Journal of Medicine



Steven Lipshultz, MD, Award Finalist
A. Conger Goodyear Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Jacobs School
“Left Ventricular Diastolic Dysfunction in HIV-Uninfected Infants Exposed in Utero to Antiretroviral Therapy,” March 2020 AIDS



Gil Wolfe, MD, Award Finalist
Professor and Chair, Irvin and Rosemary Chair of Neurology
Department of Neurology, Jacobs School
“Minimal Manifestation Status and Prednisone Withdrawal in the MGTX Trial,” August 2020 Neurology

5:00 p.m.                                                Adjournment