

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes September 19, 2023 Center for Tomorrow

Attendance: see Appendix 1

Call to Order

The chair, Suzanne Laychock, called the meeting to order at 3:07 pm and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Agenda: The agenda for the day was approved unanimously.

- 1. Minutes from May 2023 /C. Tysick
- 2. President's Report/S. Tripathi
- 3. Chair's Report/S. Laychock
- 4. Presentation by Dr. Graham Hammill, VP for Academic Affairs
- 5. New Senator orientation/S. Laychock
- 6. Naming of FSA Codirector/S. Laychock
- 7. Open forum/senators

Action Items

- Approved <u>5/16/23 minutes</u> unanimously with 2 attendance corrections.
- President's report accepted
 - Review of diverse incoming student body
 - o 150 new faculty members aligns with Top 25 ambition: 95 tenure track
 - Capital activities including Crosby Hall, Foster Hall (future GSE home), Center for AI in Lockwood, new study areas throughout the campus. Future engineering building in the design phase
 - Al chat series, started with the Chancellor's visit. Over 200 faculty are working on Al in some capacity.
 - Grant highlights: \$3.4 million for cybersecurity, \$3 million for tumor research, \$3 million for hydrogen fuel, \$2 million for high school STEM programs. 2022-23 saw \$232 million in grant funding.
 - Leadership: new deans of Student Services (Thomas Aguirre) and Architecture and Planning (Julia Czerniak)
 - UB ranked 2nd in the nation for sustainability.
 - Middle States is happening with a self-study completed and site visits coming this October and October 2024.
- Chair's report accepted
 - o Committees need populating.
 - Future faculty satisfaction survey presentation
 - o COACHE survey and satisfaction survey will be reviewed in the Executive Committee this fall.

- o Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure committee will be presenting DEI suggestions this fall.
- o October meeting will be held in Wende Hall on south campus.
- o Chair encouraged senators to suggest issues and presenters for future meetings.
- Presentation by Dr. Graham Hammill <u>VPAA Priorities 2023-24</u> accepted
- New senator orientation by Dr. Suzanne Laychock accepted

Other Items

Discussions around shared governance, volunteering for FS committees, and supporting students were brought up during the open forum.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 4:37pm



Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, September 19, 2023 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

5.00 - 4.50 p.111.
CHAIR:
Suzanne Laychock - Person
SECRETARY:
Cindi Tysick - Person
The state of the s
PARLIAMENTARIAN:
Patrick Long - EXWSED
CMBLD
ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING:
Dean: Julia Czerniak –
*Executive Committee Member -
Georg Rafailidis - EXCUSED
COLLEGE OF ARTS & COUNTY
COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES:
Dean: Robin Schulze -
*Sampson Blair —
Julie Bowker –
Cari Casteel –
Kenneth Dauber – Bohua Hu_ – Bohu Dlu
Lara Hutson – David Johnson –
*Swathi Karamcheti – Swathi · K
Abigail Matthews – Alla Call
*Sara Metcalf - Wiffeel
Harvey Palmer –
Kristin Stapleton - 4-StvM, A
Aisling Winston – A
Victoria Wolcott - What Walls
*Liana Vardi – Liana Vardi – L

DENTAL MEDICINE:	
Dean: Stefan Ruhl -	
Executive Committee Senator –	
Senator - BENITA D. SOBIERA	コ
EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER:	
*Marsha Christiano - Marsha Chrytan	ris
ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:	
Dean: Kemper Lewis -	
Barbara Alevriadou –	
Amy Baird - Confin	
Jun Hwan Choi –	
David Courtemanche – M Cutto	
Sreyasee Das Bhattacharjee –	
Lauren Kuryloski – Jan My	
Russ Miller –	0
Kamran Nemati √//	1
Ravi Ranade –	
Debanjan Sarkar - Sunnin hu	
Jongmin Shim - XIAO LIANG &	+
Weifeng Su- Weifer Su	
Sabanayagam Thevanayagam – S.O	
Wenyao Xu –	
GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:	
Dean: Suzanne Rosenblith -	
Jasmine Alvarado –	
Janina Brutt-Griffler –	

Lilliam Malave-Lopez -

*Omayra Munoz-Lorenzo –	Omaga Muss
LAW:	
Dean: S. Todd Brown (Inter	im) —
Mekonnen Ayano –	

Kim Connelly –

*Jorge Fabra-Zamora –

Stuart Lazar -

MANAGEMENT:

Dean: Paul Tesluk -

*Prasad Balkundi -

Winston Lin - Writh Todin

Weihong Xu – 🗸

MEDICINE & BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES:

Dean: Allison Brashear -

Stephanie Anzam-Frasca – TXWSED

Praveen Chandrasekharan -

Thomas Covey -

Jason Davies -

D. Fernando Estrada -

Howard Faden -

Michael Ferrick -

Csaba Gajdos -

*Phil Glick -

Weidun Alan Guo -

Stuart Inglis -

Vijay Iyer -

*Margaret DeAngelis -

*Thomas Melendy - FXWSEC

Marin

Awayda Mouhamed -

Nader Nader - Maden D. Mad	1
	<u>m</u>
John Ortolani –	
Yungki Park – WWW	
Vaqar Shah —	
Roh-Yu Shen –	
*David Shucard - Dashud	
Sandra Sieminski –	
Pooja Sofat – Mark	
Scott Stewart –	
Ahmad Zaarouca –	
NURSING:	
Dean: Annette Wysocki -	
* Meg Doerzbacher-	
Darryl Somayaji –	
PHARMACY:	
Dean: Gary Pollack	
Raymond Cha –	
Donald Mager - Don E. Man	
*Erin Slazak - Lum Ap	
PUBLIC HEALTH AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS:	
Dean: Jean Wactawski-Wende -	
Deanna Hostler – DC	
Christine Linkie –	
*Ekaterina Noyes –	
Christopher Stavisky – Cytta	
Shauna Zorich – St. Ch.	
SOCIAL WORK:	
Dean: Keith Alford -	
Lisa Buter	

*Peter Sobota – Praces
UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES:
*John Beatty — Am
Natalia Estrada
SUNY SENATORS:
Amit Kandel – Wuwi
Patrick Long – Patric
R.J. Multari-
Kristin Stapleton-
PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:
Satish Tripathi – Person
PROVOST OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:
Scott Weber - Pression
THE CLUSTS
INVITED GUESTS:
Erin O'Brien
UNIVERSITY LEADERSHIP:
Craig Abbey –
Amy Bisantz - Research
Beth Del Genio –
Robert Granfield - Present
Graham Hammill – Žuu
William McDonnell –
Eileen Sherman –

OTHERS IN ATTENDA			
Wer Busas	1/2		
	7		
Luclennses	to		
A (1)			
Paga 8/ as	43/1/20		
10-1			
Kel Stors			
LESIAI D	hedd		
100000	1-4.		
		The second second	
	The second secon		
			Was a supplied