

Attendance: see Appendix 1

Call to Order

The chair, Suzanne Laychock, called the meeting to order at 3:03 pm and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Agenda: The agenda approved.

- 1. Minutes from 12-12-23 C. Tysick
- 2. Chair's report S. Laychock
- 3. Provost's Report A.S. Weber
- 4. 5-year Appointment Recommendation Resolution S. Laychock
- 5. Resolution to add UB FS Chair as Member of the President's Cabinet P.Glick
- 6. Academic Freedom and Responsibility Committee charge S. Metcalf and R. Rasmussen
- 7. Committee Nominations C. Tysick
- 8. Shared Governance Day discussion S. Laychock

Action Items

- Minutes of 12-12-23 approved unanimously.
- 5 year recommendation resolution tabled until 2-13-24
- Resolution to add UB FS Chair as Member of the President's Cabinet tabled until 2-13-24
- Dr. Maria Segol appointed to the Academic Freedom and Responsibility Committee

Other

- Dr. Turquessa Francis as introduced as the newly elected, incoming Secretary of the Faculty Senate
- Provost's Report
 - Undergraduate enrollment for Spring 2024 is up 200 students
 - Recruiting for Associate VP for International Admissions.
 - Middle States visit is a month away, refer to the <u>Provost's website</u> for visit details.
 - Governor announced the <u>Empire AI Consortium</u> with \$400 million in public and private funding to develop Empire AI with UB as the statewide location.
 - Dr. Rachel Ablow has been accepted into the Provost's Faculty Fellows program. She will be exploring Experiential Learning in the Humanities for CAS and broadening her university leadership experience.
- Chair's Report highlights
 - \circ UB Curriculum resolution on diversity in the U.S. approved by President Tripathi
 - President Tripathi is reviewing the approved resolution to amend the Promotion and Tenure handbook
 - Sponsored Programs was given the names of faculty interested in serving on their advisory groups and planning committee.

- SUNY Plenary updates
 - SUNY downstate hospital closure was discussed.
 - An increase in state funding was needed.
- Committees of the UB Faculty Senate should be active at this point. If you are a liaison to a committee and they are not meeting or doing work please reach out to the FS Chair.
- Academic Freedom and Responsibility Committee
 - Committee has asked the senate for feedback through a short survey sent to the listserv.
 - Committee would like time at the February Faculty Senate meeting to discuss the outcomes.
- Shared Governance Day-the Chair has not decided yet what the day should look like and has asked for suggestions. They will also reach out to the PSS Chair and try to co-ordinate an event.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 4:32pm



Appendix 1: Attendance

CHAIR:

Suzanne Laychock - Present

SECRETARY:

Cynthia Tysick - Present

PARLIAMENTARIAN:

Pat Long - Excused

ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING:

Kerry Traynor – Present

COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES:

Swathi Karmacheti – Present

Sampson Lee Blair - Present

Sara Metcalf - Present

Liana Vardi - Present

DENTAL MEDICINE:

Michelle Visser - Present

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY CENTER:

Marsha Christiano - Present

ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCES:

Sreyasee Das Battachearjee - Present

Weifeng Su - Present

GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:

Omayra Munoz-Lorenzo - Absent

LAW:

Jorge Fabra-Zamora - Present

MANAGEMENT:

Prasad Balkundi- Present

MEDICINE & BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES:

Margaret DeAngelis - Absent

Thomas Melendy - Present

David Shucard - Absent

Phil Glick - Excused

NURSING:

Meg Doerzbacher - Present

PHARMACY:

Erin Slazak – Excused

PUBLIC HEALTH AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS:

Katia Noyes - Present

SOCIAL WORK:

Peter Sobota - Absent

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES:

John Beatty - Present

SUNY SENATORS:

Amit Kandel - Absent

Kristin Stapleton - Present

Patrick Long - Excused

R.J. Multari - Present

PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:

Satish Tripathi - Excused

PROVOST OF THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO:

A. Scott Weber - Present

UNIVERSITY LEADERSHIP:

Robert Granfield - Present

Graham Hammill - Present

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Jessica Naish - Present

Turquessa Francis - Present

Randall Rasmusson - Present