THE CHRONICLE

Research

Home News Faculty Research

September 17, 2009 Recipients of National Medals of Science and Technology Are Announced

By Charles Huckabee

Washington

President Obama announced on Thursday the recipients of this year's National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation awards, the nation's highest honors for scientists, engineers, and inventors. The awards will be presented on October 7 at a White House ceremony.

Two of the recipients of the science medal led rival efforts to sequence the human genome, a race that was eventually declared a tie. They are **Francis S. Collins**, now director of the National Institutes of Health, who led the publicly financed National Human Genome Project, and **J. Craig Venter**, founder of the J. Craig Venter Institute, who led the private Celera Genomics Corporation.

The science medal honors individuals for contributions to science and engineering. The other recipients this year are:

Berni J. Alder, a professor emeritus of applied science at the University of California at Davis and a consultant with Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

Joanna Fowler, director of the radiotracer chemistry and instrumentation for biological-imaging program at Brookhaven National Laboratory.

Elaine Fuchs, a professor of cell biology and development at Rockefeller University and an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

James Gunn, a professor of astronomy at Princeton University.

Rudolf Kalman, an electrical engineer and a professor emeritus at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, in Zurich.

Michael Posner, a professor emeritus in the department of psychology at the University of Oregon.

JoAnne Stubbe, a professor of chemistry and biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes individuals or companies for contributions to the promotion of technology for the improvement of the economic, environmental, or social well-being of the United States. Individual winners this year are:

Forrest M. Bird, of the Percussionaire Corporation, a medicaldevice manufacturer.

Esther Sans Takeuchi, a lithium-battery researcher at the University at Buffalo.

John E. Warnock and Charles M. Geschke, co-founders of Adobe Systems Inc.

The IBM Corporation was also honored.

Copyright 2009. All Rights reserved The Chronicle of Higher Education 1255 Twenty-Third St, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20037