Our People

Faculty come from a variety of departments at UB, including Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Medicine, and Philosophy, participate in the Center for Multisource Information Fusion.

CMIF also has affiliations with several other universities, including the Rochester Institute of Technology, Syracuse University, University of Illinois at Urbana, and The Technological Institute of Aeronautics in Brazil.

Leadership

Moises Sudit

Executive Director
Associate Vice President for Sponsored Programs
Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, University at Buffalo

John Crassidis

Director
CUBRC Professor in Space Situational Awareness, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, University at Buffalo

James Llinas

Director Emeritus
Research Professor Emeritus, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, University at Buffalo

Researchers

Joseph Atkinson

Professor and Chair

Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, University at Buffalo

207 Jarvis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

Rajan Batta

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

410 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0972

Email: batta@buffalo.edu

Paul Bauman

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

611 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1410

Email: pbauman@buffalo.edu

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor; Industrial and Systems Engineering

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

243 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5914

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

Ling Bian

Professor; Director, National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis

Department of Geography, University at Buffalo

120 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: (716) 645-0484

Email: lbian@buffalo.edu

Ann Bisantz

Professor and Chair

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

342 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4714

Email: bisantz@buffalo.edu

Lora Cavuoto

Assistant Professor

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

324 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4696

Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

Souma Chowdhury

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

246 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3059

Email: soumacho@buffalo.edu

Gary F. Dargush

Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Research; Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

223 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2315

Email: gdargush@buffalo.edu

David Hemmer

Professor and Chair

Department of Mathematics, University at Buffalo

Mathematics Building 226

Phone: (716) 645-8775

Email: dhemmer@math.buffalo.edu

Kenneth R. Hoffmann

Professor

Department of Neurosurgery, University at Buffalo

204 Cary Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5411

Email: kh9@buffalo.edu

Jae-Hun Jung

Associate Professor

Department of Mathematics, University at Buffalo

328 Mathematics Building

Phone: (716) 645-8814

Email: jaehun@buffalo.edu

M. Amin Karami

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

1013 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5878

Email: karami@buffalo.edu

Mark H. Karwan

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor; Praxair Professor of Operations Research

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

305 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

Oliver Kennedy

Assistant Professor

Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University at Buffalo

338H Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1597

Email: okennedy@buffalo.edu

Steve Ko

Assistant Professor

Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University at Buffalo

304 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4732

Email: stevko@buffalo.edu

Tevfik Kosar

Associate Professor; Director, Data Intensive Distributed Computing Laboratory

Department of Computer Science & Engineering, University at Buffalo

338-J Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

Michael Kuhl

Professor

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology

1594 James E. Gleason Building, Kate Gleason College of Engineering

Phone: (585) 475-2134

Email: mekeie@rit.edu

Kemper Lewis

Professor and Chair

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

208 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

Katie McConky

Assistant Professor

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology

KGCOE 09-1565

Phone: (585) 475-6062

Email: ktmeie@rit.edu

Michael Moskal

Senior Vice President

CUBRC

Chase Murray

Assistant Professor

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

309 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4716

Email: cmurray3@buffalo.edu

Rakesh Nagi

Donald Biggar Willett Professor and Department Head

Department of Industrial and Enterprise Systems Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana

115 Transportation Building

Phone: (217) 244-3848

Email: nagi@illinois.edu

Mostafa Nouh

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

1012 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1449

Email: mnouh@buffalo.edu

José Parente de Oliveira

Professor

Computer Science Department, The Technological Institute of Aeronautics, Brazil

Pca. Mal. do Ar Eduardo Gomes, 50 12228-900 - S. Jose dos Campos (SP) – Brazil

Phone: +55 12 3947-6941

Email: parente@ita.br

Abani Patra

Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

605 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2734

Email: abani@buffalo.edu

Victor Paquet

Associate Professor

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

411 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2357 x. 2118

Email: vpaquet@buffalo.edu

Bruce Pitman

Professor

Department of Materials Design and Innovation, University at Buffalo

123 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0739

Email: pitman@buffalo.edu

Krishna Rajan

Erich Bloch Endowed Chair

Department of Materials Design and Innovation, University at Buffalo

126 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1380

Email: krajan3@buffalo.edu

Chris S. Renschler

Associate Professor

Department of Geography, University at Buffalo

116 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: (716) 645-0480

Email: rensch@buffalo.edu

Galina Rogova

Research Professor

Department of Geology, University at Buffalo

126 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3489

Email: rogova@buffalo.edu

Tarunraj Singh

Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo

1009 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1428

Email: tsingh@buffalo.edu

Barry Smith

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Philosophy; Julian Park Chair; Director, National Center for Ontological Research; Affiliate Professor of Biomedical Informatics, Computer Science, and Neurology

Department of Philosophy, University at Buffalo

126 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 650-0075

Email: phismith@buffalo.edu

Lu Su

Assistant Professor

Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University at Buffalo

321 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1588

Email: lusu@buffalo.edu

Albert Titus

Professor and Chair

Department of Biomedical Engineering, University at Buffalo

332D Bonner Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Associate Department Chair; Professor; Director, CEISARE

Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University at Buffalo

329 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

Pramod K. Varshney

Distinguished Professor; Director, CASE

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Syracuse University

2-212 Center for Science and Technology

Phone: (315) 443-1060

Email: varshney@syr.edu

Andrew Whittaker

Professor

Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, University at Buffalo

230 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4364

Email: awhittak@buffalo.edu

Shanchieh Jay Yang

Professor and Department Head

Department of Computer Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology

83 Lomb Memorial Drive, Bldg 09

Phone: (585) 475-2987

Email: jay.yang@rit.edu

Staff

Sylvia Epolito

Project Staff Assistant

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

311 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2423

Email: sepolito@buffalo.edu