Faculty Researchers

The CMI is a network of over 75 faculty members engaged in promising innovation with broad applications including new techniques for 3D printing of metals, safer and longer lasting hip implants, low–cost solar cells and much more.

Below is a list of faculty members at the forefront of many emerging technologies:

Paschalis Alexandridis, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1183

Email: palexand@buffalo.edu

Jochen Autschbach, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4122

Email: jochena@nsm.buffalo.edu

Cemal Basaran, PhD

Professor and Director of Electronic Packaging Laboratory

Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Phone: 716.645.4375

Email: cjb@buffalo.edu

Paul Bauman, PhD

Assistant Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1410

Email: pbauman@buffalo.edu

Jason B Benedict, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4276

Email: Jbb6@buffalo.edu

Jonathan P Bird, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1015

Email: jbird@buffalo.edu

Frank V Bright, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4180

Email: chefvb@buffalo.edu

John Cerne, PhD

Assistant Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

Chong Cheng, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1193

Email: ccheng8@buffalo.edu

Deborah Chung, PhD

Niagara Mohawk Chair Professor of Materials Research

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.3977

Email: ddlchung@buffalo.edu

Luis Colon, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4213

Email: lacolon@buffalo.edu

Timothy Cook, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4327

Email: trcook@buffalo.edu

Paul Desjardin, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1467

Email: ped3@buffalo.edu

Michael R Detty, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4228

Email: mdetty@buffalo.edu

Michel Dupuis, PhD

Research Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.9062

Email: mdupuis2@buffalo.edu

Mark T Ehrensberger, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering / Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.829.3944

Email: mte@buffalo.edu

Erik Einarsson, PhD

Assistant Professor

Materials Design & Innovation Program / Materials Science & Engineering

Phone: 716.645.5089

Email: erikeina@buffalo.edu

Jeffrey R Errington, PhD

Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1184

Email: jerring@buffalo.edu

James D Felske, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1463

Email: felske@buffalo.edu

Liang Feng, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1606

Email: fengl@buffalo.edu

Liesl Folks, PhD

Dean of Engineering; Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

Edward P. Furlani, PhD

Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering / Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1194

Email: efurlani@buffalo.edu

Qiaoqiang Gan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1152

Email: qqgan@buffalo.edu

Sambandamurthy Ganapathy, PhD

Associate Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2906

Email: Sg82@buffalo.edu

Jing Gao, PhD

Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1586

Email: jing@buffalo.edu

Joseph A. Gardella Jr., PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.1499

Email: gardella@ascu.buffalo.edu

James F. Garvey, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4166

Email: garvey@buffalo.edu

Bing Gong, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4307

Email: bgong@acsu.buffalo.edu

Venugopal Govindaraju, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Vice President for Research & Economic Development

Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1558

Email: govind@buffalo.edu

Johannes Hachmann, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1524

Email: hachmann@buffalo.edu

Xuedong Hu, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.5444

Email: xhu@buffalo.edu

Susan Zonglu Hua, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering / Physiology & Biophysics

Phone: 716.645.1471

Email: zhua@buffalo.edu

Keith Kahen, PhD

Research Associate Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.3907

Email: keithkah@buffalo.edu

Amin Karami, PhD

Assistant Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.5878

Email: karami@buffalo.edu

David Kofke, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1173

Email: kofke@buffalo.edu

Eckhard Krotscheck, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6201

Email: eckhardk@buffalo.edu

Venkat Krovi, PhD

Associate Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1430

Email: vkrovi@eng.buffalo.edu

Kemper Lewis, PhD

Professor; Department Chair

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.2685

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

Haiqing Lin, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1856

Email: haiqingl@buffalo.edu

Natalia Litchinitser, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1032

Email: natashal@buffalo.edu

Jonathan Lovell, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1020

Email: jflovell@buffalo.edu

Carl R. Lund, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1180

Email: lund@buffalo.edu

Hong Luo, PhD

Professor; Department Chair

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2539

Email: luo@buffalo.edu

Cyrus K Madnia, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1465

Email: madnia@eng.buffalo.edu

Andrea Markelz, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2739

Email: amarkelz@buffalo.edu

Bruce D. McCombe, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2017

Email: mccombe@buffalo.edu

Vladimir Mitin, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1036

Email: vmitin@buffalo.edu

Ifeoma Nwogu, PhD

Research Assistant Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1557

Email: inwogu@buffalo.edu

Kwang W. Oh, PhD

Associate Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1025

Email: kwangoh@buffalo.edu

Abani K. Patra, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering / Mathematics

Phone: 716.645.2734

Email: abani@buffalo.edu

Athos Petrou, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6183

Email: petrou@buffalo.edu

Paras N. Prasad, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Executive Director, Institute for Lasers, Photonics & Biophotonics

Chemistry, Physics, Electrical Engineering & Medicine

Phone: 716.645.4148

Email: pnprasad@buffalo.edu

Rahul Rai, PhD

Assistant Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1451

Email: rahulrai@buffalo.edu

Ravi Ranade, PhD

Assistant Professor

Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Phone: 716.645.5150

Email: ranade@buffalo.edu

Javid Rzayev, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4314

Email: jrzayev@buffalo.edu

David Salac, PhD

Assistant Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1460

Email: davidsal@buffalo.edu

Debanjan Sarkar, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8497

Email: debanjan@buffalo.edu

Surajit Sen, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2017 x193

Email: sen@nsm.buffalo.edu

Jung-Hun Seo, PhD

Assistant Professor

Materials Design and Innovation

Phone: 716.645.1881

Email: junghuns@buffalo.edu

Jongmin Shim, PhD

Assistant Professor

Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Phone: 716.645.4372

Email: jshim@buffalo.edu

Tarunraj Singh, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1428

Email: tsingh@buffalo.edu

Uttam Singisetti, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1536

Email: uttamsin@buffalo.edu

Brian Spencer, PhD

Professor

Mathematics

Phone: 716.645.8805

Email: spencerb@buffalo.edu

Mark T. Swihart, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor; Co-Director, NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics;

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

Albert H. Titus, PhD

Professor; Department Chair

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

Marina Tsianou, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1191

Email: mtsianou@eng.buffalo.edu

Luis Velarde, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4243

Email: lvelarde@buffalo.edu

David Watson, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4189

Email: dwatson3@buffalo.edu

Bernard Weinstein, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6730

Email: phyberni@buffalo.edu

Robert C. Wetherhold, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.3058

Email: mecrcw@acsu.buffalo.edu

Chu Ryang Wie, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1023

Email: wie@buffalo.edu

Olga Wodo, PhD

Assistant Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.645.2883

Email: olgawodo@buffalo.edu

Gang Wu, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8618

Email: gangwu@buffalo.edu

Yun Wu, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8498

Email: ywu32@buffalo.edu

Jun Xia, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8628

Email: junxia@buffalo.edu

Hao Zeng, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2946

Email: haozeng@buffalo.edu

Aidong Zhang, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor & Department Chair

Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: 716.645.4730

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu

Peihong Zhang, PhD

Associate Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6077

Email: pzhang3@buffalo.edu

Ruogang Zhao, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1034

Email: rgzhao@buffalo.edu

Chi Zhou, PhD

Assistant Professor

Industrial & Systems Engineering

Phone: 716.645.4706

Email: chizhou@buffalo.edu

Eva Zurek, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4332

Email: ezurek@buffalo.edu

Igor Zutic, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6599

Email: zigor@buffalo.edu