Photonic & Electronic Devices

Lasers, photonics and bio-photonics lab of chemistry, physics, medicine and electrical engineering SUNY Distinguished Professor Paras Prasad.

Photonic and electronic device engineers and scientists are developing new optical devices based on metamaterials and novel structures that can manipulate light in ways not possible with naturally-occurring materials. 

They are making nanoscale electronic devices with the potential to outperform current state-of-the-art silicon-based microelectronics technology. By developing and testing methods of packaging microelectronics they are effectively dissipating heat, allowing devices to run faster and be packed at ever higher densities.

They design and fabricate microfluidic devices that couple optics and electronics with fluid flow for micro-scale chemical analysis. They design new solar cells with improved light-trapping and charge-extraction relative to conventional structures.

Faculty investigators

Cemalettin Basaran, PhD

Professor; Director of Electronic Packaging Laboratory

Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Phone: 716.645.4375

Email: cjb@buffalo.edu

Jonathan Bird, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1015

Email: jbird@buffalo.edu

Liang Feng, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1606

Email: fengl@buffalo.edu

Liesl Folks, PhD

Professor; Dean of Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

Edward P Furlani, PhD

Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering / Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1194

Email: efurlani@buffalo.edu

Qiaoqiang Gan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1152

Email: qqgan@buffalo.edu

Natalia Litchinitser, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1032

Email: natashal@buffalo.edu

Hong Luo, PhD

Professor; Department Chair

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2539

Email: luo@buffalo.edu

Bruce D McCombe, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Emeritus

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2017

Email: mccombe@buffalo.edu

Kwang W Oh, PhD

Associate Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1025

Email: kwangoh@buffalo.edu

Vladimir Mitin, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1036

Email: vmitin@buffalo.edu

Paras N Prasad, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Executive Director, Institute for Lasers, Photonics & Biophotonics

Chemistry; Physics; Electrical Engineering & Medicine

Phone: 716.645.4148

Email: pnprasad@buffalo.edu

Uttam Singisetti, PhD

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1536

Email: uttamsin@buffalo.edu

Mark T Swihart, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor; Co-Director NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

Albert H Titus, PhD

Professor & Department Chair

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

David Watson, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4189

Email: dwatson3@buffalo.edu

Chu Ryang Wie, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1023

Email: wie@buffalo.edu

Hao Zeng, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2946

Email: haozeng@buffalo.edu