University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Materials Characterization & Spectroscopy

Dr. Jason Benedict, Assistant Professor in Chemistry

The CMI scientists and engineers have expertise and facilities for comprehensive characterization of all types of materials. 

Methods employed include, among others:

  • Optical characterization (absorbance, fluorescence, Raman, etc.) on timescales from femtoseconds to hours;
  • Advanced imaging at length scales from atomic to macroscopic (virtually all types of optical and electron microscopies)
  • Magnetic and electronic characterization down to liquid helium temperatures
  • Diverse static and time-resolved small-and wide-angle diffraction methods
  • Mechanical testing from nano-indentation to full-scale testing of structural elements.

These researchers are also developing new high-throughput approaches that allow simultaneous measurements on many samples, accelerating the pace of new materials development. They are regular users of national and international synchrotron and advanced light source facilities.

Faculty investigators

Jason B Benedict, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4276

Email: jbb6@buffalo.edu

Frank V Bright, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4180

Email: chefvb@buffalo.edu

Alexander N Cartwright, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering; Physics

Phone: 716.645.1053

Email: anc@buffalo.edu

John Cerne, PhD

Associate Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

Sambandamurthy Ganapathy, PhD

Associate Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2906

Email: sg82@buffalo.edu

Joseph A Gardella Jr, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.1499

Email: gardella@ascu.buffalo.edu

Andrea Markelz, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2739

Email: amarkelz@buffalo.edu

Bruce D Mccombe, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Emeritus

Physics

Phone: 716.645.2017

Email: mccombe@buffalo.edu

Athos Petrou, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6183

Email: petrou@buffalo.edu

Paras N Prasad, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Executive Director, Institute for Lasers, Photonics & Biophotonics

Chemistry; Physics; Electrical Engineering & Medicine

Phone: 716.645.4148

Email: pnprasad@buffalo.edu

Luis Velarde, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4243

Email: lvelarde@buffalo.edu

David Watson, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.4189

Email: dwatson3@buffalo.edu

Bernard Weinstein, PhD

Professor

Physics

Phone: 716.645.6730

Email: phyberni@buffalo.edu

Chu Ryang Wie, PhD

Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1023

Email: wie@buffalo.edu