Biological and Biomedical Materials & Devices

Environmental portrait of Dr. Jonathan Lovell, Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering

These researchers are employing biological materials, from stem cells for tissue engineering to cellulose for biofuels to create new materials and devices.

The breakthroughs of these biological and biomedical materials and device researchers are:

  • Discovering new ways to improve the bonds between human-made implants and bone
  • Developing new imaging and drug delivery agents
  • Creating new imaging modalities, such as photoacoustic imaging
  • Investigating how inorganic materials (e.g. kidney stones) form in biological systems

Faculty investigators

Mark T Ehrensberger, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Phone: 716.829.3944

Email: mte@buffalo.edu

Edward P Furlani

Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering / Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1194

Email: efurlani@buffalo.edu

Joseph A Gardella Jr

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Phone: 716.645.1499

Email: gardella@ascu.buffalo.edu

Susan Zonglu Hua, PhD

Professor

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering; Physiology & Biophysics

Phone: 716.645.1471

Email: zhua@buffalo.edu

Jonathan Lovell, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1020

Email: jflovell@buffalo.edu

Carl R Lund, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1180

Email: lund@buffalo.edu

Kwang W Oh, PhD

Associate Professor

Electrical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1025

Email: kwangoh@buffalo.edu

Debanjan Sarkar, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8497

Email: debanjan@buffalo.edu

Mark T Swihart, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor; Co-Director NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

Albert H Titus, PhD

Professor & Department Chair

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

Marina Tsianou, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1191

Email: mtsianou@eng.buffalo.edu

Yun Wu, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8498

Email: ywu32@buffalo.edu

Jun Xia, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.8628

Email: junxia@buffalo.edu

Ruogang Zhao, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Phone: 716.645.1034

Email: rgzhao@buffalo.edu