University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

News and Awards

Below are links to news releases about the CLIMB Program and awards won by CLIMB-UP and CLIMB-HI scholars.

News and Press Releases

Chemistry professor honored by President Obama for excellence in mentoring

Chemistry professor Luis Colón will head to the White House to receive a national award for excellence in mentoring.

Rajendram Rajnarayanan

Rajendram Rajnarayanan, PhD, assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology, has been honored with a 2014 President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring.

Kerri Pryce

The one woman Kerri Pryce dedicates his research to can hardly remember his name.

Biologist and national science diversity advocate Clifton A. Poodry, PhD, shared his inspirational success stories through two University at Buffalo forums on June 24.
Ma et al

Jason Ma, a pharmacology and toxicology major, was one of four UB undergraduates selected to present original research findings to SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher and state elected officials.


Undergraduates from across the country have come to UB this summer to participate in a mentoring research program launched by Margarita Dubocovich, PhD.


There's more to grad school than just filling out applications and taking entrance exams, as 16 students participating in a University at Buffalo summer program are about to discover. On July 21 at 1:15 p.m., they will be playing "Grad School Monopoly," a game designed to convey to them the realities about grad school and to dispel some of the myths. It takes place in Room 125 in the Biomedical Education Building on the UB South Campus.

From the UB Reporter


kirstie cummings and gabriela popescu
Kirstie A. Cummings, a PhD student studying in the lab of Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD, associate professor of biochemistry, has been awarded a highly competitive, three-year fellowship from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.
Adamah-Biassi and Hutchinson

Ekue B. Adamah-Biassi and Anthony J. Hutchinson have received Maximizing Access to Research Careers Travel Awards for this year’s Experimental Biology meeting.


David Thorn, a PhD student in pharmacology and toxicology, received a travel award to attend the Behavior, Biology and Chemistry Annual Meeting.

crane and ellison

The two-year award supports MD/PhD candidate Alice Crane’s research on how genetic variability impacts human susceptibility to the pesticide chlorpyrifos.


Three PhD students and a recent postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Ji Li, PhD, presented their research at the world’s largest and most prestigious heart research meeting.


PhD candidate Shannon Clough and postdoctoral associate Anthony Hutchinson, PhD, received travel awards to attend a prestigious conference on translational research in addiction.


Jason Ma has received a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow Travel Award from the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics.


PhD candidate Bethany Rankin has received a Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Award from the American Association for Cancer Research.

CLIMB-HI and CLIMB-UP alumnae received awards for research in Pharmacology and Toxicology