Undergraduate Student Awards

Students walking at North Campus

Philosophy Department Awards

Through the generous support of our UB Alumni and friends, each year we recognize the academic excellence of our undergraduate students by awarding a special scholarship, and an essay prize.

Mary C. Whitman Scholarship

The Mary C. Whitman Scholarship is awarded annually to a Philosophy major who will be a senior during the year the scholarship is held. The award is made on the basis of academic excellence. The recipient is eligible to participate in the Philosophy Honors Program and to enroll in a graduate philosophy course each semester during the term of the scholarship. The award is generally in the $3,500-4,500 range.

Applications for the Mary C. Whitman Scholarship should include a request letter from the applicant, two letters of recommendation from Department of Philosophy faculty or instructors, and a research essay from a philosophy course. This essay may be revised for submission for this award. Applications and supporting documents should be forwarded by May 10th of each year to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Philosophy, 135 Park Hall, North Campus.

Steinberg Prize

The Steinberg Prizes are given each year to the best original works on a philosophical theme by UB philosophy undergraduates. Original essays, poems, stories, or artworks also qualify. The typical submission is a polished version of a larger paper (greater than 6 pages) that has been submitted for a philosophy class, and on which positive feedback has been received from the instructor or from another faculty member.

The essay can be on a mainstream philosophical problem or on a more advanced and specialized topic. The Department of Philosophy encourages submissions in all formats and philosophical traditions.

Muriel and Charles Steinberg established the Steinberg Prize essay competition in the late 1970s. Funding is currently being continued through their daughter, Dr. Carol Steinberg Gould.