University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Emeritus Faculty

Clifford Bloom
PhD 1964 New York University
Research: Partial differential equations, scattering theory and energy decay, applied mathematics
Email: cobloom@acsu.buffalo.edu

Stephen Cavior
PhD 1963 Duke University
Research: Discrete Mathematics
Email: cavior@acsu.buffalo.edu

John W. Duskin, Jr.
PhD 1966 McMaster University
Research: Category theory, n-categorical representation of homotopy types, homotopical algebra, non-abelian cohomology
Email:duskin@math.buffalo.edu

Albert G. Fadell
PhD 1954 Ohio State University
Research: Analysis, measure theory
Email: fadell@buffalo.edu

Nicholas D. Goodman
PhD 1968 Stanford University
Research: Mathematical logic, philosophy of mathematics
Email: ngoodman@buffalo.edu

Irwin Guttman
PhD 1955 University of Toronto
Research: Statistical inference, design problems, variable selection problems, Bayesian diagnostics
Email: sttirwin@se.buffalo.edu

Eugene M. Kleinberg
PhD 1969 The Rockefeller University
Research: Mathematical logic, infinite combinatorics
Email: kleinbrg@cse.buffalo.edu

Jon Kraus
PhD University of California at Berkely
Research: Functional analysis, operator algebras, operator spaces.
Email: mthjek@buffalo.edu

F. William Lawvere
PhD 1963 Columbia University
Research: Algebra, category theory, synthetic differential geometry, philosophy of mathematics
Website: F. William Lawvere  

Catherine L. Olsen
PhD 1970 Tulane University
Research: Operator algebras, operator theory, functional analysis, K-theory
Email: clolsen@buffalo.edu

Ann Piech
PhD 1965 Cornell University
Research: Analysis, functional analysis
Email: apiech@acsu.buffalo.edu

Yieh-Hei Wan
PhD 1973 University of California, Berkeley
Research:  Applied mathematics, global analysis
Email: ywan@acsu.buffalo.edu

Scott W. Williams
PhD 1969 Lehigh University
Research:  Set-theoretic topology, topological dynamics
Email: suw@buffalo.edu
Website: Mathematicians of the African Diaspora

Zbigniew Zielezny 
PhD 1966 University of Wroclaw (Poland)
Research: Analysis, functional analysis, distributions, partial differential equations