University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Undergraduate News

The Houpt Prize was established in 1936 by Wilbur Houpt in honor of his son, George Knight Houpt.  It has been awarded every year since then to the student who has demonstrated excellence and proficiency in the work of the English Department.  Criteria include overall QPA, English GPA, recommendations from faculty, and a piece of written work submitted by the student.   

This year's winner is Alex Hunt.
The Joyce Carol Oates Prize was established in 2004 by Professor Oates of Princeton University because of her strong ties to the Western New York region and to promote her special interest in young writers.  It is an award given annually for the best piece of creative writing fiction by an undergraduate or graduate student at UB.

This year's winner is Emily Anderson.

Honorable mentions are Monica Lippens, and Veronica Wendy.
The Scribblers Prize was established in 1939 by the Scribblers Club of Buffalo, an organization that was founded in 1893 as a counterpart to the Press Club which was not open to women. Scribblers' intent was to encourage the efforts of women writers in the Buffalo area. The Club's original gift to the University of Buffalo stipulated that a prize be awarded annually for the best piece of creative writing submitted in competition by an undergraduate woman.

This year's winner is Amanda Kelley.

Honorable Mention: Cathryn Piersa.
The Arthur Axlerod Memorial Prize for poetry was established in 1975 by Mr. and Mrs. Harold Axlerod of Kenmore, New York in memory of their son, Arthur, who was an undergraduate student in the English Department.  The award is given annually for the best poetry submitted in competition by undergraduates at SUNY/Buffalo.

This year's winners are Sarah Grimaldi and Edward Spangenthal.

Honorable Mentions are Angelina Bruno, Alex Hunt, Corey Klino, Cassandra Norris, and Cathryn Piersa.
Each year the Dean honors the top senior graduating from each department in the College with the "Dean's Outstanding Senior Award" (a medal and a certificate), which is presented at the University Commencement ceremony.

Each department and various programs in the College are asked to select one graduating senior for this award.  The selection criteria are:  demonstrated academic excellence exemplified by an exceptional grade point average, election to honor societies, participation in research, etc., as well as other academic achievements departments may wish to consider. Also, it is mandatory that the student selected to receive this award attends the University Commencement Ceremony.

This year's winner for the Department of English is John O’Brien.