Thayer Wins Joyce Carol Oates Prize for Fiction

The Joyce Carol Oates Prize was established in 2004 by Professor Oates of Princeton University because of her strong ties to the Western New York region and to promote her special interest in young writers.  It is an award given annually for the best piece of creative writing fiction by an undergraduate or graduate student at UB. 
This year's winner is Alex Thayer.

Student award winners will be recognized at Department Commencement on Friday, May 16, from 3:00-5:00 in 120 Clemens.