Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty News

Our faculty is made up of internationally recognized writers and scholars. 

Carrie Bramen was selected for the Anne LaBastille Writers Residency at the Adirondack Writing Center in October 2014 ( While in residence, she will be working on her book-in-progress, on American niceness. Bramen is one of six writers selected this year, and the only writer of academic prose.
Jerold Frakes, Professor of English, has been promoted to SUNY Distinguished Professor. He has published 15 books, including monographs, translations, and editions, including The Politics of Interpretation: Alterity and Ideology in Old Yiddish Studies (1989), Brides and Doom: Gender, Property and Power in Medieval German Women’s Epic (1994), and Vernacular and Latin Literary Discourses of the Muslim Other in Medieval Germany (2011). He is the recipient of numerous fellowships, including a National Humanities Institute Fellowship, a two-year Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Fellowship at the Free University in Berlin , a Harvard Radcliffe Fellowship, which he currently holds, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. READ MORE
The Negro and His Folklore in Nineteenth Century Periodicals

Bruce Jackson’s 1967 study,The Negro and his Folklore in Nineteenth-Century Periodicals (American Folklore Society and University of Texas Press, 1967), was republished this week by the University of Texas Press. The work is about how white Americans in the nineteenth century saw and wrote about African Americans. A copy can be found here:

The Negro and his Folklore is one of three major studies Jackson published in the late 1960s and early 1970s. The other two, Wake Up Dead Man: Afro-American Worksongs from Texas Prisons (1972) and Get Your Ass in the Water and Swim Like Me: African American Poetry from the Oral Tradition (1974), were published by Harvard University Press. Wake up Dead Man was brought back into print by University of Georgia Press in 1999, and Get Your Ass in the Water was bought back by Routledge in 2004. All three works are considered classics in American Studies.

Arabella Lyon
Arabella Lyon, UB professor of English and director of the Center for Excellence in Writing at the University at Buffalo, has received the 2014 Book Award from the Rhetoric Society of America (RSA) for the best work in rhetorical study published in 2013.
English Department faculty have won impressive national and international fellowships this year.